Something More Than Words in Poetry is the Window to the Soul...

  • March 15, 2015, 3:26 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

And sometimes the inspiration comes from the shadows in the heart and the cherry blossoms upon the bed..

“Something More Than Words”

There’s a shadow in my doorway
An echo within my heart
It sings a sweet and soulful melody
That reminds me of the days
When I was your everything
As everything was always
And always was falling apart

The road that lines our fabled past
Leads to such a powerful
And intensely painful
Bliss that only you and I
Will ever understand
While written words
Oh, our precious scripted friends
They never shall do us justice, no
As words are beyond its grasp

So too are you for me
An exotic feather falling gently
To the plush, rolling grass
With a slight gust you loop
Almost playfully
And so very teasingly
Just beyond my worn
Desperate hands

Winter was always my weakness
Her hands so soft, so delicate
Chilled to the very touch
Which only made me long to hold them
With so much more than heat’s intent
Gently rubbing the warmth into
Those slender fingers
That can untie me as easily
As that sexy, crooked smile
Bound me at every glance

Oh, I long to experience this season
Embracing the silky tendrils
Those precious few wisps of forest green
Amongst honeycombed strands of pulling hair
Dragging nails of amber and pleasure
Across the snow-covered floor
We would mistake for a bed
And explore every snowflake fallen
Until we are impossible to distinguish
From the words we pen in our hearts
Placed on papers devoted to yes
As if somehow these sonnets
These pages might convey
Might somehow give us these days
As we had everyday
It was the nights we never once
Were allowed to kiss

Winter is my favored lover
A figure and an illustration
Something more than words
More than life and love
As permanent as death
It is a special kind of desire
A white-hot wrought iron yearning
That rumbles with every
Haggard and desperate
Fingertips dragging across rib-cage
Kind of gasping breath

© Brian Milici
December 18, 2012

May you always find your smile.


Deleted user March 15, 2015

Wow. This is beautiful. Think every girl dreams of a guy writing a poem like this for her. At least I know I do!

LoveSuicide Deleted user ⋅ March 15, 2015

I was sifting through some of my older stuff, and this struck my fancy. Oddly enough, I've often been told that.. every girl's dream.. my words.. and yet they always end up cheating on me in the end. And they always end up coming back and telling me how they screwed up and wish they could change things and try again. shakes head

I don't know if trust is something true or part of our glorious imaginations. Wishing and wanting the "one" we are with to be faithful. What an old-fashioned notion. I am.

Deleted user LoveSuicide ⋅ March 15, 2015

Aw, the girl from the poem cheated on you? :(

LoveSuicide Deleted user ⋅ March 17, 2015

I think, hmm, well I could be vague and mysterious as I used to be.. or I could just be forthright. This isn't OpenDiary so I may as well change my spots. Forthright it is!

Every person I've ever trusted completely has betrayed that trust. Be they my best friend or my lover or both.

Though a piece of everything is in what I write. I'm a very abstract poem being written inside my own head. Forever under edit.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.