Good Stuff in Diary

  • March 14, 2015, 8:27 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today is my first day off for five weeks. The first time I could go to bed and not have to set the alarm for 7:00am or 7:30am to get up for work. It was absolute bliss, I’d forgotten how nice it was to wake up naturally. I slept in until 10:30am and have been pottering around doing housework and chilling out. Jay has gone to the pub this afternoon to watch football so I’ve got the place to myself. I’ve plugged in my speakers and listening to my music loudly. I don’t often get to do this, Jay is normally in charge of all the media in this house. We watch football when he wants, listen to his annoying music when he wants. I only get to watch or listen to what I want when he isn’t here. Well I fancied singing loudly so I’m listening to Skunk Anansie’s back catalogue. I love Skin from Skunk Anansie, I want her voice. I know I don’t sound anywhere near as amazing as her when I sing along, but it’s fun to try anyway. One of my greatest moments was photographing them and getting right up close; I kept on forgetting to take photos I was too mesmerised :o)



I’ve now been in my new job for two weeks and I’m starting to settle in. I can go through the processes more quickly now and don’t have to give 100% of my brain power to it so I’ve got time to chat to people. Most people in my department are similar ages to me, give or take five years or so which is nice and I’ve found something in common with quite a few of them. One bloke enjoys skating of all kinds so he’s been asking me roller derby. One girl is getting married soon so we’ve been chatting about weddings. I went to Starbucks with Rachael and Hannah for lunch again yesterday and Hannah was more chatty and open with me. Maybe it just takes her a while to warm to people, or maybe she was just sick of looking at my face last week as she was training me up. But anyway, it seems to be going well.


At roller derby on Wednesday I had my first proper scrim. This is a sort of practice game we play amongst ourselves, but we had some guest players from the Coventry team. I was terrified before I went on, but I forced myself to have a go at jamming and it was brilliant fun! I got lead jammer at one point, which means I got through the pack before the jammer from the other team, who has been playing for four years. I even scored some points and I managed to stay out of the penalty box.

The best part was when I was struggling to get past the mean tough Coventry girls, and my team mate’s hand came out of nowhere, grabbed me by the wrist and gave me an amazing whip, pulling me past them all and catapulting me around the pack. It was amazing!



I seem to be losing weight, weirdly. Last time I weighed myself a couple of months ago I was about 10st 7lb/ 147lb/ 67kg. A few days ago I got on the scales to find I’m 9st 11lb/ 137lb/ 62kg. Yesterday I weight myself and it’s gone down again to 9st 9lb/ 135lb/ 61kg. At my 5ft 6in, my BMI has gone from 23.7 to 21.7 without even trying! This is bizarre seeing as I’m doing a lot less exercise since I started my desk job, and I’ve been eating all the food I set my eyes on.

Fridays are especially bad at work as they have breakfast sandwiches and Starbucks for lunch every week. Yesterday I consumed two tangerines, a yoghurt, sausage and egg sandwich, cream muffin, hot chocolate, Danish pastry, cheese sandwich, one litre of water, a can of Dr. Pepper, Pot Noodle with a slice of bread and a can of lager. Not at all healthy, I’m just glad we have roller derby on Fridays so I can burn off some of those calories. I can’t remember the last time I weighed this little, but I’m enjoying my new trim tummy. I’m not expecting it to last long though. Maybe I should start up my Jillian Michaels DVDs again, I was really pleased with the results when I did her Six Week Six Pack workout :o)



Tonight we’re off out to see cover band ‘51 Stone’. We’ve seen a few times; they tend to cover 60s rock like Led Zeppelin, The Who, Black Sabbath and the like to perfection. I want them to play at our wedding. I’ve suggested it to Jay and he seems open to the idea so I’ll have to ask them how much they charge.

All in all, life seems to be going quite well at the moment :o)


Babe In Toyland March 14, 2015

:) happy things!

Lucretia March 15, 2015

Hooray for good stuff!

puffin March 16, 2015

Ooh yeah lots of good things!! I love covers bands. A lot of my friends are in at least one, which is nice!

history of love March 16, 2015

Hurrah for days off, sleeping in and all the other good things mentioned too.
Hope you enjoyed your gig :)
x

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.