Shades of J.R. Ewing! I'm in Dallas... in Muddling Through As Best I Can

  • March 15, 2015, 12:18 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I decided to take an impromptu trip out of town with friends this weekend. Jimmy and LaFondra are co-workers and now longtime friends, and they invited me to to drive to Dallas to watch UFC matches. Jimmy isn’t a fan, he’s a fanatic, lol.
We arrived in town yesterday just before midday after driving in the rain all the way. It turned what would normally be about a 3 1/2 hour drive into almost five, which was long, but I had more quiet time than I’ve had in months!
Today the matches begin; there are twelve bouts scheduled and it’s a big thing for UFC fans. I’m not a fan really, but it sounded like something fun to take me out of the house, and hang the expense.
Kids are well, both have jobs now. Brad got a job in construction and Brian is now a chef at an assisted living facility for the elderly. It’s a very posh place, and he loves it so far; and so do I, he brings home leftovers. So far, in the last week I’ve had shrimp with penne pasta, garlic mashed potatoes, and braised asparagus tips with bacon; another day was filet mignon, and chicken tetrazzini, which I’ve never eaten but was delicious!
The fight matches end late tonight, at which point I will head back down south so I can be home for Brad and Shea’s baby shower. New drama on that end, but that’ll wait for another day. This one weekend is about Dad relaxing and letting them take care of themselves, lol.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.