Battle of Mobile Bay in Laughing in Circles

  • Aug. 9, 2013, 8:09 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sing it with me:

The GP sent me to the Neuro, The Neuro sent me to the Oto(laryngologist), The Oto sent me to the Audio, And I'm still dizzy as a top!

Long story short, Oto misread Audio's report and wanted me to undergo a certain therapy that I am NOT a good candidate for, based on Audio's evaluation.

After informing the nurse, who was informing me, that the information she was givingme was incorrect, she skimmed through the notes and discovered I was correct. So she called me back yesterday to tell me that I was a poor candidate for Vestibular Rehab, and that I was to continue my current medications and call if my symptoms got worse. To what end?!

'Worse', it would seem, is subjective. After all, I went to them BECAUSE I was worse and while the migraine pain has abated, both the dizziness and strong ringing in my ears persist at this new, heightened level.

I processed this information for a bit. I felt like I'd been tossed in the middle of the ocean,and these doctors, nurses, tests, and symptoms - all torpedoes giving chase! They're everywhere - consuming our finances, my endurance, my well-being!

WHOA

I closed my eyes and took a deep breath, imagining it as a white mist, curling up through my sinuses and up the back of my skull, engulfing the red clouds of frustration. And with each exhalation, my mind began to clear.

I am currently raising our FOURTH teenager. I have a daughter who has been living a menses hell and does things like proclaim before God and everyone,that her uterus is takng over her entire life thus it MUST be Republican.

My oldest son ELOPED, for God's sake! And sat in MY house for hours, talking about the plans they had for their upcoming wedding! And he lives today!

I wrung my hands while two of our sons served this counry overseas! And giggled at their first letters where they refer to me, not as mom, but mommy. ;) Boot camp is hell.

I raised diapered ducks, for crying out loud, and took them to nursing homes!

I have been married to the same man, rain or shine, for THIRTY years. 'Nuff said.

There is just too much good stuff....funny stuff.....interesting stuff in my life, to let the high-paid idiots use me as a shuttlecock in their game of badminton.

So....damn the torpedoes, baby, and full speed ahead!


Lyn August 09, 2013

I like your attitude!

LordSnooty August 09, 2013

lol teens smelly expensive parasites lol. got one. u want mine?

MJ's Page LordSnooty ⋅ August 09, 2013

Not just no...but hell no!

Deleted user August 09, 2013

I LOVE this entry. I keep refusing to jump back into all the doctors but I have a feeling my time is coming to plunge back in whether I want it or not. -sighs- It makes my heart smile to see that someone can tackle this amount of overwhelming craziness with such humor and grace :) -Salutes you-

-Wonky

MJ's Page Deleted user ⋅ August 09, 2013

Thanks, Wonky. Humor and grace is as humor and grace does. The whole whining thing wasn't really working for me though I do confess that I have been known to throw a pity party here and there. Turns out, crying and moaning also triggers migraines. Who's got time for that?! LOL

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.