Almost the end in Pipeline Tales

  • March 13, 2015, 11:09 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Of our time in Michigan!

J has to look over a job in Iowa on Wednesday, that means we will be driving home on Tuesday! He keeps teasing me how lonely he will be without me. I told him he will just have to survive. I can’t imagine they will keep him here much longer. There is SO much work for this coming summer. I am afraid it will be another summer of working 7 days a week for him. I am just hoping we get to spend a little of it in the camper. That thing is to expensive to leave sitting for another summer.

My mind just spins with all of the things I need to get done when we get back.

Right after I posted the other day my neighbor called about taking her chickens the first week of April. I am not quite sure what is happening with them. She lives with her step-dad, he is 70 she is 50. After they had a big party for his birthday, a lot of his family threw a fit that she wasn’t working full time, she babysits for a lady after school and thats it. A lot of the dads money was going to support her horses and taking care of their 5 acres. Now the horses got sold, and they are putting the house up for sale this spring. She told me she wants to find an apartment in town. At least that way when we are gone she could come out and take care of the chickens.

I really don’t know a lot about her. I invited her to Bible study with me. She came a couple of times but decided that wasn’t her thing. (she didn’t like the lesson) I told her any time she changes her mind that she is welcome to try again.

Speaking of Bible study I am ready to go back! I think our small group has just kind of fell apart. I am gone, the leader was gone to Africa, a couple of older ladies wouldn’t go out in the weather, and another lady was having personal issues. That only left 3 in the group. Hard to have a good discussion with just 3.

I have been working on my study while gone but it is a tough one! Lots of thinking involved. We are studying 1 Corinthians I am on Chapter 7 which deals with marriage. Some things are hard to read as a divorced woman.

These questions involve reading 1 Corinthians 7:24-50
The first phrase of vs.29 and the last phrase of vs.31 tie Pauls thoughts together. Read this passage along with 1 John 2:15-17; James 4:14; 1 Peter 1:24,25

a. Perhaps Paul is telling us that we have our priorities and emotions confused-that we place more time and value on things that are temporal (and passing away) than on those things that are eternal. What lesson do you as a single or as a married person see here?

  1. The fourth reason for staying single is found in vs. 32-35 Paraphrase the idea found in these verses in your own words. Does marriage prevent devotion to the Lord? Does singleness guarantee it? How can you, in whatever state you are in, work on the quality of your spiritual life?

I had one lady from our group email me that this was one of the hardest lessons. I agree!

Then we are working on a side lesson of Spiritual Gifts. That has been very eye opening too!

We only have 4 sessions left when I get back. One is going to a womens shelter to share our testimonies. We bring them lunch, donate our time for manicures, pedicures and haircuts. During the year we gather personal things for the ladies that get distributed that day. This will be my 5th year going. It is always such a rewarding experience. Just a group of women getting together sharing their love of the Lord. Some are just at different walks in their lives.

Today is supposed to be warmer. A nice day for outside. But little man got his boots all wet yesterday splashing in puddles.

alt text
alt text

I don’t have any way of drying them out. J left his boot drier at home. Hopefully we can find a dry spot for just tennis shoes.

J’s crew is doing a bore shot today. Which means they are pulling pipe underneath a road. Not sure how long this one is, but they have been working hard getting the pipe ready. It means a long day/night. I don’t expect him back until sometime tomorrow morning. Usually not a too dangerous job, but another pipeline had a death last week while doing a bore shot. Please keep his crew in prayers!

Well somebody has decided they want pancakes for lunch! He is currently singing 10 in the bed, and the little one said roll over, roll over. But won’t let me video him! lol

I think Shaggys little belly tell the story of our trip here!
alt text

A lot of eating and not a lot else but naps!

Happy Friday!


terriberri March 13, 2015

yay for going home!

i too....have trouble with alot of areas in the bible, being a divorced woman. sigh.

there's a such thing as a boot dryer??? lol.

how i would have loved to hear him singing that song, lol.!!!!

Spirit Song March 13, 2015

....and they all rolled over and one fell out! Oh yes, I am quite familiar with that song! lol. We are currently doing the book of James in our Bible study. OH. MY. GOODNESS. It is so hard! But I guess you learn more from the hard studies? I hope so. My ladies Sunday morning small group did a book last year on spiritual gifts, and it was awesome! Hope you are enjoying that one. I love the idea of the trip to the women's shelter. What a great way of being "doers of the Word and not just hearers only," as my friend James would say!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.