Reality check - the it'sbeenalongtime version. in Winter 2014/2015

  • March 12, 2015, 11:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

WHERE: this feels like the start of some cheesy game show; It’s Friday! I’m in the bath! It must be reeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaalllliiiiiityyyy cheeeeeeck time!

WEARING: Brown Hair band which is holding up far too much hair. I do love how long my hair is but it’s in such appalling condition at the ends that it just looks straggly…

FITNESS UPDATE: interesting experiment this week. Eating wise, because of a serious lack of money, I’ve been having school dinners because, if we eat with the kids then they’re free. Usually I eat a salad for lunch which I make at home, it contains a variety of salad veg plus any combination of the following: olives, avocado, bacon, ham, chorizo, seeds (flavoured with chilli or soy), cheese. It’s big and it’s really yummy. I also have Piece of fruit and natural yogurt with honey. My weight generally stays about the same. This week I’ve been eating school dinners, there was macaroni and cheese, sandwiches, jacket potato, pasta Bolognese. I had a piece of fruit each day and bottle of water. In one week I’ve put on over a kilo or almost 3lbs!! Pretty Damn amazing right?! AND, I’ve yawned my way through the afternoons! It’s been a good money saving exercise and an experiment into what would happen if I piled all those carbs back into my life again!

IN THE NEWS: a snorkelling trip in the Baja de California has crashed with a whale leaving one person dead. It doesn’t say what happened to the whale in the article I read. Is this another sign that too many boats making too much noise in the water affect the way whales communicate? Perhaps.

Terry Pratchett has died. He really helped me after my mum died, I was really struggling with life in general at the time and found that I couldn’t drive because there wasn’t enough to keep my mind off my emotions so I would end up unable to see for tears. But, I discovered talking books at the library and in doing so also discovered the discworld and all its amazing characters. Listening to books in the car meant I could get safely to work and home again every day so thank you to a great man with an incredible imagination. You kept me sane on my daily hour long commute.

READING: Rushome Road. It’s a very sad but uplifting book set on the border of Canada and Detroit, set in two different time periods. But (and here’s the but), my new Fannie Flagg book arrived yesterday (pre ordered five months ago)… I mustn’t cave, I must finish what I started.....

ACTIVITIES TODAY: my last day at work, I have a home made card to hand out to each one of the kids and one to the teacher. I need to pop into co-op on the way to work to buy 30 envelopes, a bunch of flowers and some cakes (the latter for my guided reading class, the flowers for my teacher and the envelopes for the cards!)

Tally is climbing tonight and this afternoon I will have my first hair cut in ten months…

THINKING ABOUT: everything I need to do today, making sure I leave school things at school and bring my things home. What I need to do for the new job which starts on Monday. Making sure the girls know what’s expected of them in the mornings as our routine changes.

PLANNING: a bottle of beer. I have Sol in the fridge, lime in a baggy in the veg section. I think the two will meet this evening over an episode of gogglebox.


thesunnyabyss March 13, 2015

the woman was a Canadian that died, not far from here, in Calgary, I read something that the whale knocked her out of the boat but that's all I've heard so far,

my aunt and uncle lived on the Canadian side across from Detroit, we'd spend summers there, we could see it, Detroit, had these great summer Freedom festivals for Canada Day, July 1st and Independence Day July 4th, great fun for kids!

enjoy your last day!!

edna million March 23, 2015

Oddly, I have never read anything by Terry Pratchett, and I have no idea why not -I've got him on The List now, after reading so many good things about him.

Deleted user April 26, 2015

I was sad about Terry Pratchett:-(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.