Today's entry is brought to you by the letters F.E.L. in Everything Else

  • March 12, 2015, 11:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Apparently making a few YouTube videos on a subject makes you an expert. When did this happen? I am not talking the legit experts (there is a woman who is bang on a knitting expert), I am talking some schmo who decided to pick up some sort of trendy trend and spent a shit ton of money on supplies and made a video and three people were all gaga over that shit and suddenly this person gains expert status and all the “tell me more” comments. Seriously, FEL (fuck everyone’s life).

Now, my YT stream is full of all these planner videos. It started with a simple search for a review on a Franklin binder. That sucked me into some sort of wormhole and now there are a ton of suggestions and like a dipshit, I click on them and it is a scary ass world. Also, you are not allowed to offer constructive criticism unless you want to have an onslaught of shit thrown your way for being “mean”. I don’t see how telling someone that the music is too loud and you cannot hear the person’s words clearly. Or how saying “maybe you could wait until your dog is done barking or child is done crying before you film/continue”.

The big thing now is “series”. All these “gurus” (no shit that is what they call themselves) are now into having a series of videos. Because it is really hard to figure out how to write appointments in a calendar. And pimping out Etsy sellers. Anyone with a decent printer & a Cricut or Silhouette is now opening up Etsy shops to sell stickers. Every kind of sticker (someone has panty stickers (in varying shades of pink/red) to track your fucking period in your planner) in every color. Now I like a good planner sticker, one that reminds me I have car service scheduled, because it draws my attention to that. But, I really don’t need to track said personal cycles in my calendar. Imagine opening that up at the hair salon and being like, “oh better not do it that day, I am going to be riding the crimson wave and will be likely to dye it pink.”

Social media, once amazing, now is terrifying and corrupting the world one post at a time.

I have been reading “the life-changing magic of tidying up” by Marie Kondo (you will have to google because I don’t care to figure out how links work on this platform. Plus I type and paste because I will be damned if this platform is going to suckhole my posts like OD did) and I am taking the “does this spark joy” approach to my social media feeds. While it is hard to part with some train wrecks, in the end I plan on being a much happier person and having a lot of free time to devote to things that do actually spark joy. Like writing and crafting and other fun stuff.

One thing that royally pissed me off the other day was a “guru” (of hoarding and spending money on ridiculous things) posted a picture of said book and I was almost ready to burn my copy because everyone would assume I was reading it because I follow her train explosion of a life on IG. I didn’t, one because I paid for my copy, two because I was already reading it and three because I am kind of afraid of fire.

I hate how the world assumes that you are a bandwagon jumper because you pick up the same book as some quasi-famous person. Cewebrities are the worst people to ever exist right under cannibals, rapists and child molesters. Their self-induced elitism makes me want to punch them in the throat repeatedly.

I want to leave you today with one positive: Check out CinemaSins on YouTube. It is absolutely one of the best channels out there.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.