Fright + Edit in My new life, a book

  • March 10, 2015, 9:37 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday evening while texting on the phone with a friend I tried to intercept a sneeze. Oh man that was painful.
Why are you holding your stomach husband asked later on… because it’s painful I responded. It’s just above my stoma I realised.......... That’s when I got a fright; that’s a sensitive area. To bed with a paracetamol was the best I could think of. But meanwhile I felt guilty....... you stupid woman, why do you work so hard, can’t you be a bit more careful.
That’s my trap. When something goes wrong I punish myself even more by putting the blame on myself.
At the moment I do my best to be realistic, I’m not super woman, I’m allowed to make mistakes. Yes…difficult!
I went to my last lesson DP but before I went away asked husband to take a picture of my stomach; there was a lump. I e-mailed the hospital and included the pictures. Ever since I received a few mails: it might be a burst in the wall of the stomach; happens often they assured me. But because it’s painful they want to see me, preferably this week.
Husband is already worrying a lot, about me, my pain, the holiday.That’s his trap.

At the moment I’m waiting for the appointment office to call me. I’ve already cancelled the visit of a friend from Belgium for tomorrow and Thursday.

I can see the benefit too: being positive when everything goes well is very easy; it’s a challence when you’re unfortunate. I do my best :-)

BTW I succeeded in putting on just one picture.

EDIT
Today I had my first appointment. Next week I see the urologist.
There’s indeed a burst in my stomach wall where a part of my bowels got trapped last week, which caused the pain. Since then I feel better, much less pain.
Unfortunately there isn’t such a thing as a simple fix on this occasion. As long as my quality of life is reasonable, surgeons mostly prefer to do nothing because of my earlier operations in that area. I wear a brace again.
It was a reassurance however, to learn that I did nothing wrong, that about 75 percent of stoma wearers runs this risk. And the nurse didn’t see a reason NOT to go on our holiday. To be sure I’ll also ask next week.


Last updated March 16, 2015


Lady of the Bann March 10, 2015

It sounds like a hernia. It may have been better to have sneezed rather than to try and hold it in.

bill_gardner March 12, 2015

Wishing you the best of health, and that the doctors are able to solve this bump in the road easily
Bill
xxx

Deleted user March 15, 2015

I too, hope it was a simple fix. Take care, and go easy on yourself xx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.