A call to 911 and funeral arrangements in Life

  • March 8, 2015, 10:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

That’s how my weekend went.
Friday I stayed late at school to help with the coke delivery for our 4H club. I’m not a sponsor any more, but I told them I’d help. A friend was meeting me here at the house to ride to a paint party together. I left with barely enough time to run in and change first. I was almost home (on the 4 lane highway that runs in front of my house) when I noticed a large group of men standing in the yard of a house right by the road. As I got closer one stepped out toward the road and started waving his arms. I thought he might be trying to flag me down, and I knew I wouldn’t stop, so I got my phone out to call 911 thinking he might need help. Then he stopped in the middle of lane and threw his arms back and stood there waiting for me to hit him. I was about 50 yards or so away and I changed lanes. He headed for the left lane then and I really got nervous. One of the other guys ran out and drug him back. I finished calling 911 and was telling them about it. To get to my house I have to make a uturn in front of a satellite dealership. There happened to be a Deputy sitting there in his car. I told the operator that and pulled in to talk to him. (From the time it started to the time I got to the parking lot was maybe 2 minutes). I explained briefly to him and the operator was telling me I would need to go show him the house. He said he knew exactly what house I was talking about and took off. I made it home in time to run in, change shirts, and feed Lizzie. My friend got here and we left. It was about 10 minutes after the first incident when we passed the house again. There were 3 cop cars there and two guys were being led away in handcuffs (including the guy that walked out in front of me). It was crazy and freaked me out a little. I don’t know if he was drunk, high, or really wanted to be hit. I’m just glad there wasn’t more traffic around, because it could have ended much differently.
Today my sister and I sat down with my parents and worked on their funeral plans (it’s something my mom has wanted to do with us for a while) My sister ‘s mother in law passed away last week and it’s been really ugly. She said she wanted to get everything straight. It’s not finished. Mama still wants us to go through things like jewelry, tools, guns, etc and specify who gets what. (We talked briefly about it this evening and my sister laid claim to all the tools, all the guns, my dad’s 1 ring (other than wedding band), and my mom’s only 2 real pieces of jewelry (a sapphire white gold cocktail ring and her diamond wedding set). She also said she gets their house, their truck, and the camper. My parents know I’m not willing to fight over any of it, but they were very determined that we write it all out. So, I guess we have another afternoon like that in our future. I’m not looking forward to it. I told them to sell all but the piece of land her trailer is on, sell everything they have that’s worth something, and go live on a life boat, take a cruise, do something fun and use it all.


Small Town Girl March 08, 2015

Sounds like your sister wants everything?! What is left for you? Pain in the butt that is is to do this, it has to be done. So many families get down right ugly and nasty after the parents are gone! Better to have it written down!

Jigger March 09, 2015

Dude, your sister. I can't even. But your parents were there, and they know you won't fight her. Might they write some things in for you?

When my grandparents died, my mom and uncles made a huge pile of art, jewelry, dishes, and everything. Then they took turns picking, round and round, until it was all divided. Might that work? That way you'd get a more equal division. And once you each have a pile, you could do tradesies. Or not.

terriberri March 09, 2015

wow.....sounds scarey that these guys were in the road....like that....for whatever their reasons were!!!! i'm so glad you are okay!!!

that conversation with your parents is one i avoid at all costs. my hats off to you for facing it.

Deleted user April 03, 2015

I did not inherit anything from my Mom. My stepfather kept everything or got rid of it by the second day she was gone . It was the strangest thing but I behaved myself and did not say anything.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.