HELP! Has anyone done fundraising? in A New Beginning to an Old Story.

  • March 6, 2015, 7:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hey all,

So I want to reach out on prosebox and see if anyone could help me out.
I have this big idea in my head but not sure how to make it reality.
Heres the story… my grandmother has always been my entire world, if it weren’t for her I would not be here. She passed away in August due to a stroke. My entire life, she was always so involved with charities and helping other people out. One of the charities that meant the world to her was the Heart and Stroke Foundation. So as her wishes, when she passed I made an announcement that instead of bringing flowers/giflts to her memorial, please donate to the Heart and Stroke through a thing I set up… and it was a great outcome.

But I want to do more. I’ve talked to them about volunteering and i’ve also looked at walks for Parkinsons (in her name). It just.. doesn’t seem like enough. I want to turn this into a huge part of my life. It would help me cope with her absence.

I found this link on the heart and stroke foundation website for CharityCahllenges.. you go all over the world and do these challenges, like 8 day hikes through mountains, jungles, the grand canyon, etc. Or kayaking trips, treks along volcanos, etc and you raise money to donate to your charity of choice. This is something I want to do and more than likely will do. It costs money, you have to pay for your own flights. (the one I want to do is in Indonesia, and it will cost me about $4500)

I wanted to make a page on facebook, or a tumblr, or something in my grandmas name, to bring awareness. I just..dont know where to even start. Or how?

Has anyone had experience in doing something like this? Tell me your stories…


Foofah March 06, 2015

I know a lot of people use GoFundMe, but I know they (the website) takes a portion out for their fee.

If you wanted to videotape it or turn it into a book or some other project like that, you could also consider doing a KickStarter page.

NoteToSelf. Foofah ⋅ March 06, 2015

Yeah, I'm not sure how gofundme works but I should check it out.
What's a KickStarter page?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.