Bait and switch in The irresistible urge to rant, riff and ramble

  • March 5, 2015, 2:03 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

A friend of mine at uni was a very butch member of the local LGB society. Around Christmas, this was our conversation after about four beers:

Her: I’m still trying to figure out how to tell my parents that I’m, you know, gay.

Me: They don’t know?

Her: Yeah, you’d think it’d be obvious just by looking gestures bitterly at self

Me: You have a plan?

Her: I have a wonderful plan!

Me: Wanna share?.

Her: I’m going to show up at breakfast looking really worried and say “Mum, Dad, please sit down. I have something important to tell you.”

Me: This is going to go well.

Her: “I need you to understand. I’m.... pregnant.

Me: What.

Her: And then while they’re all panicking, I’m going to say “APRIL FOOL! I’m not pregnant, I’M GAY!”

Me: Do I need to call the police if you don’t make it back in the Spring term?


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.