Not a slave to the phone in My this and that

  • March 5, 2015, 2:16 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

There is a pastor here at church who sometimes chooses to not be a slave to the phone. I can understand and appreciate that. It’s frustrating when you are in the middle of something to have to pick up a phone call… it tears your mind away from what you were doing, and if you are on a roll with something, that’s annoying. Also, yes it seems more and more lately that we are a “slave” to technology. We are almost always in a place where someone can get a hold of us on the phone, and sometimes you just need to have private time, or concentrate solely on the other person you are with, or whatever.

BUT you are at work! People are calling specifically to talk to you. I know this, because they talk to me first and then ask for you. They are asking for you because they have a question about something that YOU are in charge of. And I saw you walk into the office only 30 minutes ago, so I’ve told them that yes you are in the office. So when you repeatedly don’t pick up the phone, it’s kind of frustrating… because then I get a call back and they complain that you’re not in the office… and it makes me look bad at my job.


invisible ink March 05, 2015

One would have to wonder how many individuals would react if we turned off every cell phone in the world for one month. Some might have a melt down. The whole constantly connected thing is really a strange thing...
Regarding picking up I know it feels like it reflects on you but truly most know
who" is to blame... you just are stuck listening to the frustrated individual on the other end....

Sapphire Knight March 05, 2015

Yeah you need to talk to your pastor about it. He needs to tell you if he isn't taking calls or something. Or you could be completely honest with the callers, "i saw him walk in the office 30 minutes ago, I have no idea why he didn't answer his phone"

chel_c March 06, 2015

oh honey! hugs! maybe he is having a hard day and just can't mentally do his job today?
i hear your frustration love! praying for you.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.