March 30th 2015 in Exploring the Ad Infinitum-Continuum Galaxy

Revised: 03/31/2015 5:18 a.m.

  • March 31, 2015, 5:12 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

What was your life supposed to look like?

I ask myself.

I’m standing on the balcony, smoking, the ever-present winterwind in my face.
I waste dwindling time on scenarios that are always better than current circumstances.

I need to knock.that.shit.off.

Because:

It steals the present moment. I can hardly remember significant portions of my life because I wasn’t actually there to experience it.
I want to live life as it’s happening.

And:

It keeps me stuck in the past, too.
I’m stuck in the past AND I’m not in the present moment.

I’m not actually sure I can knock.that.shit.off., though.

Because:

I feel extra-sooper-dooper mentally ill.
No improvement.
Ongoing.
Worse, actually.
Like, I’m at the pinnacle… of the abyss.

And:

Every morning, as soon as I’m barely-conscious, the horse is out of the fuckin’ barn.
It feels automatic.
Over the course of short moments, I’ve caught myself thinking INSANE things.
Rapid-fire.
Unreasonable, illogical and unlikely things.
And I’m all:

”hi… i just woke up after yet another shitty-broken-ass-sleep. i need coffee before we start with this shit.”

Does this sound like something I can just knock off?

The sound of my brain, eating itself, blocks out everything else.
It’s crazy.

_____

I posted a video on Facebook - of my mom, playing the piano. It’s lighthearted - she’s charming and funny and being a ham.
Jake and Drew are off-camera but you can hear them laughing and enjoying her performance.
It was a nice moment we all shared and I’m glad I have it.

My sisters keep re-posting it with:

”Really missing you today, Mom.” -type status updates.

My oldest sister (who saw her through, right ‘til the end) wrote:

”Missing my best friend. I love you, Mom.”

And I’m over here, like this:

?

Then, I remember that each of us three daughters/three completely different, separate individuals - had a different experience with her. There is a ten-year age gap between us.
A lot can happen in ten years.
FACT: I am NOT the same person/parent I was ten years ago.
SO: The person/parent my mother actually was - to my older siblings - was vastly different to the person/parent she was to me.
(That sentence is a nightmare.)
THEREFORE: Our reaction to our mother’s death is going to be different.
(Right?)

I dunno.

Their reaction seems more… common, though.
Like, they miss her and feel love toward her.
It’s a fairly standard reaction - many people experience these feelings after the death of their mother.

I don’t have that.

Instead, I feel like the odd person out.
Or, like an anomaly - a freak who is broken and can’t feel love.
Mostly, all I feel is totally alone.
Abandoned.
Orphaned.
Again.
_____

I wrote all that, ^^ up there, ^^ almost a month ago.

Since then, I’ve been thinking about quitting writing about anything, ever again. Writing now feels like a nagging chore. I don’t get any benefit or joy from it anymore.
Plus, it really bothers me that it’s been reduced to nothing more than catalogue-ing negativity and mental illness and one desperately-bad decision after another.
I can’t see it any other way.
Add “writing” to the ever-expanding list of Things That Life Has Stomped The Fuck Out Of Me.

_____

I’m embarrassing myself, here.
One thing that life HASN’T stomped-the-fuck-out-of-me?
A staggering amount of toxic shame.

Plus, the ever-present knowledge that none of this even fuckin’ MATTERS on the cosmic scale.
Peter’s father died last year.
My mom just died in January.
I find myself thinking about their lives - all their experiences and ultimately, how fucking pointless the whole thing is.

Like, what did they accomplish?
What did they contribute?
Honestly?
Not a fuck of a lot.
They will be forgotten completely in one generation.

I guess that’s what burns me the most.
All this struggle, all this terror and grief, all this… shit I didn’t ask for, don’t deserve, don’t want.

It’s all for nothing.

So… yeah.


Last updated July 13, 2015


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.