I ate sugar by choice... in Winter 2014/2015

  • Feb. 28, 2015, 9:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

And was surprised by the lack of flavour, it was just sweetness!

Let me backtrack though…

A few months ago I saw a Spanish Food Workshop advertised at our local college, I spoke to my friend M, who I learned Spanish with. We meet up every week to practice chatting the language. And we agreed to sign up for the course.

Well, that day was today and we had fun but I’m exhausted! We cooked solidly for six hours and made some really nice stuff. We shallow fried garlic, ham and peas along with an egg before pouring it all on top of some sliced and toasted baguette. That was really good and was followed by chick pea and bacon stew. Once it was on the hob we left it to simmer for three hours. We made the tomato sauce to mix into it before making alioli as a group for later use. I do think the teacher was way too used to salt because it was insanely salty! However, we then chopped some cod fillet into cubes and diced the parsley. Then we heated a mixture of milk, water and butter. Once it was boiling we removed it from the heat and quickly stirred in all the flour before adding the eggs slowly. Next we added the fish and herb, heated some oil in a deep pan and fried the mixture in small , golf ball sized pieces. Man, that was so good! We dipped those into the alioli. We finished off the chick pea stew by adding chorizo and the tomato sauce we had made earlier. The last thing we made was garlic soup with a poached egg and croutons. I must admit that I didn’t make it because I needed to get back so that Rich could go to the hockey and, to be honest, I was full and it was an ‘eat there’ thing, not a bring home dish.

So how did I end up eating sugar? The first dish I made was crema catalana. Zesty, creamy dessert. Which contains sugar. I decided that I wanted to try some and so I did. I had one teaspoon. Then I had another teaspoon. Then another one… After the I made myself put it away!


Deleted user February 28, 2015

All that sounds delicious! And... Spanish Food Workshop? Very cool. I still love the taste of sugar... dipped my finger into the caramel sauce of Mehmet's carrot cake today, and nearly went to heaven. :)

thesunnyabyss March 01, 2015

that sounds like an awesome way to spend the day, and yummy,

and three teaspoons is highly commendable!!! you rock!!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.