Birthday Surprise in Everyday Things

  • Nov. 12, 2013, 8:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I've been a member of OD since 2001. I originally started that diary thanks to a friend at the time. I never thought about actually writing down my thoughts or anything before, and I never expected to meet so many wonderful people throughout my time there. I will always remain loyal to OD, but it is nice to have another place to go to.

I tried livejournal, xanga, and inthewire back in the day. The only blogging site I used more than OD was inthewire. I want to say it lasted for 2-3 years tops? Anyway, I've seen more and more of my OD faves up and leave OD out of disinterest or a change in their lifestyle.

I really do enjoy that site, but I'm glad prosebox is here.

With all that out of the way, I do have some news to share.

On February 9th, I drove up to Augusta, SC to visit my dear friend, and fellow ODer, Ana Rose. Since I was coming to visit, she wanted me to meet her new boyfriend at the time. They had been dating for several months, but she wanted my input. So, we spent the first part of the day hanging out before he came over. The three of us clicked from that moment; I told her how happy I was for her, and I was glad she had him in her life. We spent the next part of the evening chatting, eating, and goofing around. As per tradition, Ana and I started to take pics of each other in various poses, and we included her boyfriend in the fun.

Before I drove up, Ana wanted me to hear the song they were working on. She actually wanted to perform a little "concert" for me :-). Meanwhile, I asked her if I could borrow her laptop to copy the contents of my photos to her laptop; she agreed. I didn't know it at the time, but her best friend sent her an IM on yahoo. Not wanting to intrude, I asked Ana if it would be okay for me to respond to the IM. Ana told me it was fine. I introduced myself to Jasmine, and we started talking for about 10 minutes or so. We exchanged yahoo information, and since it was starting to get late, I bid my goodbyes and headed home.

During the next few weeks, we started talking everyday. I found out she was single though I never had any intention of dating her. We both didn't want to do the long distance thing, but our mutual attraction grew too much for either of us to ignore. We started flirting more and more, and it didn't help matters when we both started seeing each other on webcam :-p. We started calling each other baby, but I didn't want to get into a relationship until we physically met in person. I finally couldn't take it anymore, and I officially asked her to be my girlfriend on April 19th, 2013.

From that point on, we grew closer together.

I originally wanted her to fly here because we would have more privacy (her parents are ultra strict), but in the end, I knew it would be better for me to fly there first.Since she lives in Texas, she has at least four different airports within 2 hours of her: Dallas, Waco, Killeen, and Austin. Flights from Atlanta to any of those places would be just outside of my budget. I really wanted to book a ticket towards the end of July. Moving to a new house took that out of the equation, unfortunately. I wasn't working as many hours at Sears like I had hoped either.

Things started to change the past month or so. With the holidays coming up, I've been able to work more hours at Sears, and I was able to take care of some bills. I told Jasmine that we should try and meet on February 9th, but Jasmine's birthday is on December the 13th--11 days before mine.

So, I hatched a plan.

I would fly from Atlanta to Waco, TX then drive the hour south to her city and spend the weekend with her. I kept my eyes on the plane tickets for weeks. On the day of my last payday, I immediately booked the plane tickets, but I didn't tell my baby that yet. I spent all day figuring out the best way to tell her.

I told her I was "miserable" that I wouldn't be able to make it on her birthday after all. I told her the price had doubled, and there's no way I would be able to afford it. I did tell her that I purchased something for her that is related to One Direction and to check her e-mail. Once she saw the e-mail, she grew confused for a second because she couldn't find anything pertaining to One Direction. We were on video chat, and I was trying my hardest to keep a straight face, but she was making it difficult for me lol. She asked me, "Wait, does this mean you're coming?" I told her that I will be there to see her on her birthday ^_^. She told me she flat out wanted to smack me for doing what I did lol. I still get a kick out of her reaction once she realized what I had done.

So, the current plan is to leave Atlanta on the 13th and arrive in Waco around 5 ish. There will be a 3 hour layover in Dallas, but what can you do? I'll stay from the 13th-16th. If all goes well, I'm going to see about flying her here for our 1 year anniversary on April 19th :-).

Well, I'm going to get off of here. I've held my baby in suspense ever since I started writing this entry lol.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.