A real update! Holy wow. in Site Updates

  • Feb. 26, 2015, 11:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

OK, so I’ve fixed some rather nefarious behavior and added one minor feature…

First, the fix. The book save behavior was not working as it should, particularly for people who like to use different privacy levels in the same book. Whether or not you changed the privacy level of the book, any time you saved any changes to the book (like updating the description), it would reset all of the entries in that book to the default privacy level.

That is now fixed.

Also, when you do change the privacy level of a book and save it, it will only change the privacy level of entries matching the old privacy level. Which I think would be the expected behavior.

So for example, let’s say you have a Friends Only entry and a Private entry inside a Public book. All of the other entries are default Public. You decide you want to go Members Only, so you change it and save the book. Now your book is Members Only, and so are all of the entries that were Public. However, the Friends Only and Private entries remain unaffected.

And the minor enhancement:

There has been no way to put a link to a Youtube video on Prosebox. Dropping in the Youtube URL automatically embeds the video. If you just want the link, you can do this:

<a href="https://YOUTUBE-VIDEO-LINK-HERE" target="_blank">My video!</a>

Notice the target="_blank" part. That’s the magic HTML sauce (and you have to use HTML rather than Markdown).

The result is:

My video!

Kind of a hack, but the best I can come up with based on how the Youtube embed works.


Oh yeah, and people keep asking me about the ads. I turned them back on a while back but I guess I forgot to post an update. I expect there to be a subscription option added this year, but for now the ad revenue is nice. :)


Last updated February 26, 2015


Rexyrexin February 27, 2015

Good work done by admin.

ThisIsME February 27, 2015

Was wondering about the ads just figured I was on the crazy train

Nash February 27, 2015

Now I want Mongo DB and I don't even know what Mongo DB is.

Deleted user February 27, 2015

Still ads are fine but the videos drive me crazy, especially when I accidentally roll over them.

Cat Mommy February 27, 2015

Yay! Thank you!

Jigger February 27, 2015

Don't worry about the ads. You get that money, son! Though I may well subscribe when the time comes. Since were friends and all.

TruNorth February 27, 2015

I don't mind the ads as they are currently placed. I will be interested in a subscription. I want the site to provide the owner with income so the site will be worth maintaining - so ads and/or subscriptions that provide adequate money is fine with me.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm February 27, 2015

i don't usually pay attention to the ads. so, if they give you revenue, keep the ads. take care,

Deleted user February 27, 2015

Thanks for keeping this site updated.

middle age pearl February 27, 2015

I LOVE that the YOUTUBE link comes up in separate tab. Thank you!!

Johnny Carcinogen February 28, 2015

Eh. Adblock does the job nicely.

I was wondering if you were going to make a mobile app, or at least a mobile version of the site. It looks bloody horrendous on my mobile device.

donut Johnny Carcinogen ⋅ February 28, 2015

Weird. It's fine on mine!

Johnny Carcinogen donut ⋅ March 01, 2015

I suspect your idea of fine and my idea of fine are two different animals.

synapse Johnny Carcinogen ⋅ March 06, 2015

What device are you using? I've never tried it on my 4" phone, but it's great on my 7" tablet. If I recall correctly the design is intended to work on mobile already and there is no plan for a separate version.

Johnny Carcinogen synapse ⋅ March 07, 2015

iPod touch. I'm unable to change my profile picture which is annoying as hell.

MemoryFails March 01, 2015

MemoryFails March 01, 2015

Oh that was supposed to say thanks and keep up the good work! Or ellllse!! LOL <3

Garnys March 01, 2015

You don't just rock, you boulder!

Neogy Titwhistle March 01, 2015

I would pay a reasonable subscription fee for a kickass site. So far, so good! Adblock plus may be the new norm?

simple mind Neogy Titwhistle ⋅ March 01, 2015

Thanks! I don't think Adblock will ever become prevalent enough to kill web advertising. Although it is interesting to consider what would happen if ads became no longer viable on the web. I think the vast majority of copycat sites would die, and the remaining higher quality sites would become very exclusive and cater to a subscription crowd.

synapse March 06, 2015

Ads? What ads? halo
Regardless I am interested in a subscription function just to support the site. However, I wish you implemented it earlier, because I have less money now. Hopefully I can still afford it.
How did the book privacy change function before? I noticed a few entries I meant to be private were at other settings in a book I often toggle from members only to public. I thought I made a mistake, but maybe not?

simple mind synapse ⋅ March 08, 2015

It was reverting all entries back to the book privacy level when you saved a change to the book (any kind of change).

Loki March 08, 2015

  • I'm listening to my usual heavy metal, and when I clicked on your video link, it was so trippy, yo! O_O
patrisha March 11, 2015

I know {Now} that one can change the ads one sees but I have only just found this out so I gleefully getting rid of all the ads that try to get me to buy yet again all the things I have already bought! Of course, I am not always thrilled by what I get in its stead which means I am looking forward to giving you money in exchange for no ads!
Hm, right now, I am being bombarded with ads trying to sell me windows. {Note, no capital letter!}

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.