I heard recently... in Winter 2014/2015

  • Feb. 26, 2015, 11:56 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

…that there’s a medical term for the desire to live in a past age, one you’ve experienced or not.
I’ve also read a few Jasper Fford books which are (a) set in our town and (b) set in a world where fiction and reality have a very blurred line, where escaped convicts hide within the words of books, others retire to books that fit their retirement desires.

I feel I’m living a combination of the two at the moment - a desire to live in the pages of various books, to know the people and places, to live at a different pace of life.

And it isn’t limited to books, there are movies and telly programmes that give me the urge to melt through the screen and into the realities of their fiction.

Tonight Death in Paradise is on. I love this programme so much because of its gentle nature, it’s lovable characters. Of course, a good reason not to move there is that (excepting only one I can think of), any new, white character will either die or be accused of murder!! But its gentle music, happy people. Even the murders are gentle, all done very Agatha Christie style with a gathering of all the suspects in order to decode the crime and have them all gasp with shock at the outcome.

It’s a lovely ol’ show about the gruesomeness of jealousy, hatred and murder so, between 9 and 10 tonight I shall be on a Caribbean beach, sipping potent cocktails, eating spicy dishes while experiencing it all unfold.


thesunnyabyss February 26, 2015

I've wanted to escape into a few books myself,

enjoy!

The Tranquil Loon February 27, 2015

I really miss sinking my life into something like that. Enjoy dear. It sounds like fun!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.