The Rearview in Poetry is the Window to the Soul...

  • Feb. 26, 2015, 3:24 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

An old friend brought me back here.. and the need to once more find myself. As I begin this journey through written word, I only ask of you is do your best each day to smile. See, it’s gonna get better. It can’t rain all the time.. on to the words.

And sometimes the inspiration comes from sweat-soaked sheets from night terrors of a future sans you, when all you really need is the truth…

“The Rearview”

Finally figured out today
A tricky little secret
The kind tucked away
Under layers and layers
Of my own inner demons

Insecurities and change
Don’t handle them so easy
But I really gotta say
I’m tired of being
The rock
The safe place
Where you always turn to
For validation and love
I am no longer your completion
I don’t need you
I don’t need you
I don’t need you
Anymore

I’m still fighting through each day
Cause yesterday was just make believe
Where one lie ends
And another you create
I could not tell you the difference
See, I was heartbroken
Ashamed
Too weak to see the real you
Or the blessing that you gave
Cause never again
Never again
No, never again
Will I believe in you

My trust and My faith
You held a hammer and a stake
Yet still I believed in you
No matter how many swings
No matter how many flings
Pierced me clean through
I covered for you then
And to this very day
I don’t know why
But I fucking still do

Breathe, easy, always
Cause that’s not the way
This story will continue
No longer will I proceed
Putting you before me
As tomorrow looks
Far more promising
The less of you I believe in
Cause darling I don’t break
I will piece me back to completion
Your true nature revealed
Has finally set me free
I just had to see through
See the real you
And in a whisper
I’m a ghost
I’m your past
Unafraid
In your rearview

I find my smile these days
Amidst thoughts of my freedom
Always & Forever
I will never stop
I will never surrender
I will always love
I will always give
I still believe
I still believe
I will always believe in you!
I say to my own reflection
Smiling back at me
In the magic of the mirror

© Brian Milici
December 13, 2014

May you always find your smile.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.