Odd incident in Melbourne Diaries

  • Feb. 24, 2015, 5:02 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

An unusual event today. I was attending some training course - an annual tedium, part of the mandatory ‘continuing legal education’ that you must undergo in order to re-register as a lawyer each year. The presentation, to around 150 other lawyers, was particularly dull, but halfway through a political discussion started up, criticising the incompetence of the current government, some contractual arrangements, and various other complaints against the world. I couldn’t care less, had other matters at the office to worry about, and was thinking mostly about a book on Sonic Youth I had been reading during the lunchbreak. Moreover I’ve been unable to sleep for several nights in a row, and could barely stay awake at the session.

However, the man running the presentation looked concerned with where the discussion was going and cut everyone off with the following comment: “I’d just note that there is a lawyer from the Department of **** in the room.” There was some nervous laughter and then awkward silence. In my sleep-deprived state it took me a few seconds to realise he was referring to me.

I’ve been at my new job for six weeks, and now my presence alone can unnerve a whole room full of lawyers. If only my pay reflected this new Gestapo officer effect I seem to have on other people.


Last updated February 24, 2015


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.