Brrrrrrr..... in Life

  • Feb. 23, 2015, 9:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m sitting here freezing my tush off. There have been signs of spring here and there, but winter came back and bit us hard these past few days. We’ve now used 2 of our weather days. Today was a wasted one. There was really no chance at all of freezing precipitation our way, but they called it anyway. They had to call it tomorrow, too, because the freezing rain reached us tonight. My sidewalk is now icing over and I have tiny little icicles hanging off my room. Hopefully the wind today kept most of the water from building on powerlines, so no outages tonight. It will be rather cold in here if it does. I’ve never understood that I have natural gas heat, but an electric lighter, with no way to light it by hand.
You northerners can go ahead and laugh at us. We are expecting no more than 1/4 of an inch accumulation of ice (and probably less). However, that shuts us down pretty well. The snow, well, it slowed us down, but we dealt with it. The ice....that’s another story. An now, instead of the fine mist I was having with a tiny bit of sleet, it’s advanced to a steady rain with sleet. Maybe it’s warmed up above freezing. Yep, that’s what I’m going with. :)

For your entertainment, I leave you the picture that’s been floating around facebook all day:
 photo imagejpg1-3.jpg


Daisy Mae February 23, 2015

Haha! Right now I'd give anything to have just 1/4 inch of accumulation - I am so done with the snow!

dream seeker Daisy Mae ⋅ February 23, 2015

I'd love some snow! :) feel free to send some down this way.

Jigger February 23, 2015

Brace yourself. It was miserable here today. But if you do have the day off, wait until it quits and go out and melt it all off your car. I did that this afternoon, and probably shaved half an hour off tomorrow morning.

dream seeker Jigger ⋅ February 23, 2015

The crazy thing is, it's supposed to hit 49* tomorrow, so it should melt all by itself. Lol

Jigger dream seeker ⋅ February 23, 2015

Ugh. Lucky! I don't think we ever got above 28 today.

terriberri February 24, 2015

i would never laugh at you guys and what you are going thru. the news junkie that i am, watches all the reports in all the states with people i journal with, and i know it's rough stuff!

dream seeker terriberri ⋅ February 24, 2015

We got lucky last night. My car iced over, but most of the roads were ok. We're out again tomorrow because there's a chance for more tonight.

Small Town Girl February 24, 2015

1/4 inch?! Wow! I need to move south!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.