I did not really disappear.... in A New Beginning

  • Feb. 23, 2015, 3:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

....but I don’t blame any of you if you gave up on me. (I hope you didn’t, though!) Two things have factored into my reeeeeaaaaally long absence!
(1) More medical stuff!! But I do believe that AT LAST the cause of my leg troubles (I was having severe cramps in the back of my left thigh for MONTHS!!) has been found!!!! and other maladies too!!!!! My primary care dr. kept fretting because blood tests have shown my calcium to be very high. I finally had my appointment with the endocrinologist, and she could tell right away that I have hyperparathyroidism! Which is easily fixed by surgery! It also explains why I have been so frickin’ tired! Forever, it seems! Truly, at some point every day, or pretty much so, I collapse on the couch, proclaiming “I am so damn tired I could lie down and die!” And while that may be an exaggeration (must be, since I’m still alive!), it does not feel like one.

I had been blaming my tiredness on the Joes and Guinness, but turns out, there’s a physical reason for it, and that’s good. I will have my surgery this summer, when I’m off work. She (Dr. Parker) said that I will be amazed by how much better I’ll feel. Hyperparathyroidism also causes aching bones, especially in the arms and legs, depression, and crankiness....all of which I have had in full store! Oh, it is SOOOO good to know there’s a reason for it!!

(2) The other thing was this BIIIIIIIIG thing I had to do, as part of my work for my Second Degree. I had to teach a 90-minute class and design and lead a ritual for my coven. I chose to teach a class on the Germanic Goddess Holda, and design a ritual to Her as well. I had to do a heap of research. Then I had alllllllll this information from soooooooo many sources to organize. Then to make an outline and try to prepare myself to talk for ninety minutes about Her!! It was SOOOOO MUUUUUCH WORK!! I have not done that kind of heavy-duty research work since college, and I was much younger then and also didn’t have a family and a dog always around when I was trying to read, write, THINK, etc.!

Nor did I have hyperparathyroidism making me so tired I could just about die! ;o) !!

Anyhow, I have finally finished that. I presented both to my coven and our Elder yesterday, and it all went off AWESOME. I figured it’d be good, but was a bit surprised it went off even better than good. :o) !!

I am going to post this now, before anything comes along to interrupt my writing time! Oh, I DO hope to have time to read you and find out what-all you’ve been up to.....maybe while the Joes watch tv tonight!

blessings and hugs,
Nicky


patrisha February 23, 2015

Both my older son and his wife have had problems with their thyroids, both had, I am assuming, the same surgery that you are going to have, and both are doing fine now.

Deleted user February 23, 2015

Oh good - you didn't fall off the planet! I was wondering about your whereabouts.

thesunnyabyss February 23, 2015

I am glad you got some medical answers and will feel better soon,

and I'm glad to hear your class and ritual was awesome, but I knew it would be,

glad to have the update!!

hugs!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.