Orlando in Another Open Diary refugee

  • Feb. 22, 2015, 11:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We went to Orlando for the weekend… we’d planned to come home on Monday because John didn’t have any calls booked, but he got a server call, so I said we should come home today (Sunday) instead. That way he doesn’t have to drive 300 (or whatever) miles tomorrow… and this morning when I woke up I had a cold, so we pulled out as early as we could and we were home by lunchtime. The cats didn’t have time to miss us, but they chowed down on a TON of kibble! I leave the big feeder out when we go away and it’s supposed to have enough food for 5-6 days… I filled it 2/3 full and they ate almost ALL of it before I took it up tonight and put it away!

We didn’t see Rita at all this visit, she wasn’t well… just as well since I’ve got a cold now. Hopefully I didn’t give our brother-in-law my germies… he took us to a yummy breakfast yesterday and out to the Dixie Fish House (or something like that) for a seafood dinner… I felt extremely decadant ordering shrimp AND scallops! (the scallops were amazing btw, but I don’t really like ‘rock shrimp’. They were too muddy for me…) There was far too much shellfish for me to eat at one go and I was going to have shrimp for lunch today, but I had to leave it behind in Dick’s fridge… you can’t carry seafood home 3 hours in the car, or I won’t anyway! John took his life in his hands and had fried mahi-mahi. (he’s allergic to shellfish, but he said it would be okay for us to eat it…) He said it tasted great…

guess I’d better go see if I can sleep… it’s 1am and I’m getting tired, but I feel too crappy from the stupid cold to lay down. I slept for a couple of hours after we got home today, but now I’m wide awake. I HATE COLDS!


Last updated February 22, 2015


Everything Good Rebecca February 23, 2015

Waiting until I'm tired AND sleepy tends to ensure actual sleep. I'm hoping you and that cold part ways, and soon!

Moglie americana February 27, 2015

was it Dixie Crossroads?

Silverkitty Moglie americana ⋅ February 27, 2015

Yes it was... you've been there? I couldn't get over how crowded it was! But we were very fortunate - somebody pulled out of a parking spot right near the door and we got it, and since our BIL had booked for us, we only had to wait a few minutes. The non-alcoholic pina colada was YUMMY too!

Moglie americana Silverkitty ⋅ March 03, 2015

I haven't been there but It's the stuff of legend in Central Florida. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.