more earrings and a necklace in jewelry

  • Feb. 20, 2015, 1:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today we were off for Adverse Weather (it’s been between 0 and about five below all day, with windchills up to FIFTY BELOW) and I took advantage of it to make more stuff. I ordered some beads and wire and a rubber hammer and several other things from Fire Mountain a couple of days ago, and it arrived today, very conveniently (I may be doomed– it has EVERYTHING and most of it is not that pricey). I got some Czech glass beads in a couple of sizes- and in variations of purple- which I was very pleased with. I made earrings with them first, using some stuff I got at Michael’s on sale not too long ago and really liked: big “stones” that are kind of lavender with brown edges, and then some metal things in various shapes. Round and square, or whatever those things that are square but have holes at a diagonal so they are like diamond shapes are called. Probably diamond shaped. Anyhow, they all kind of worked together. I did my spirals at the bottom of the earrings, and then decided to do a necklace too because I still had plenty of beads and metal things left.

Untitled

I have to say, I LOVE the necklace. I will wear it a lot. It’s not very long (I was kind of half-following a guide in the Dummies book, but just for the length and the clasp instructions) and I really didn’t plan it out as far as length but it ended up being perfect. I don’t actually know if I’ll wear both together since I’m not a big fan of matchy match, but I was quite happy with both. The earrings are kind of long and again just a long thing of beads but they actually blend well with my hair, which has gotten longer too.


Flame is Love April 25, 2015

When I was beading a lot, I lived an hour away from Fire Mountain Gems. They didn't have a stir front but all shopping to me was overnight. Very dangerous. I haven't made anything in ages.

edna million Flame is Love ⋅ April 26, 2015

YIKES. I am totally addicted to Fire Mountain -- I'd be bankrupt! I'd heard of them for years but never ordered until I took this class. At least the prices are reasonable. Mostly.

ermentrude April 25, 2015

It's a lovely set, but I agree about matching things; heck, my earrings themselves rarely match! X

noko April 26, 2015

Very nice. It makes a big difference having a well developed artistic eye. One of my clients when I was a financial planner was/is a jewelry designer and I learned a lot about it and sourcing beads and the whole thing. I have some lovely pieces she made for me and your necklace reminds me of one.

edna million noko ⋅ April 26, 2015

Thanks! I'm finding it REALLY rewarding to be doing something creative, which I don't do nearly often enough. And I'm kind of shocked at how patient I am with it. I don't like most crafty things because I'm so... impatient. I want it to be perfect immediately with no effort in learning on my part. But I can mess around with things like this forever and not get bored.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.