bracelets in jewelry

  • Feb. 19, 2015, 8:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Then I did bracelets! I really really love the spirals- they are easy to do and I love the way they look. Kim gave me a pair of earrings YEARS ago that are just two sets of spirals and they are one of my favorite pairs. Spirals are fun to do and they also look really neat. Even when they are not even and are kind of beat up - they look like you meant them to be this way.

I got the design from a Beginning Guide to Jewelry Making For Dummies book that I have had for about a million years and never really used. I was looking through it to see if it had the ring instruction (thinking for some reason that there would just be that one way to wrap rings in wire, I guess, and it would be easy to find) (it wasn’t - I never did find that one although I found a lot more) (and I think the instructions are in a folder of stuff the instructor gave us that we had to leave in our lockers so I can’t look at it) and I found a bracelet that I loooved. So I tried it.

Overall I was quite pleased with my first effort. It wasn’t hard at all, the spirals are fun to do, and it didn’t take too long. I used beads I’ve had for ages. And the weird shiny cheap Michael’s wire. Upon finishing, I decided it would have looked better to have the spirals evenly distributed- one up and one down for each match, if that makes sense. And perhaps the long beads weren’t as good a choice. I may redo it so the spirals alternate, and tighten the links up a bit.

I made another one last night and did have the spirals alternate, and liked it even better.

I am REALLY pleased with this one. The only drawback is that it’s actually too big. I can get it on and off without undoing the clasp. I think I can probably adjust it so the jump rings aren’t down in the spirals, though, and that would make it a bit shorter. Don’t want it too much shorter or I’d never get it clasped. But the spirals ARE nice alternating. They don’t look so even in reality - one right across from its match - they are more spread out like they are in the part that’s stretched out more. Same cheap Michael’s wire, more beads I’ve had for ages. I put two little round beads with each long bead which was nicer than the one alone in the last bracelet. And of course also made it longer.


Last updated February 19, 2015


ermentrude April 25, 2015

You have been busy!! The first one is my favourite, I think it's the colours of the beads though. I'm such a bracelet person!! X

edna million ermentrude ⋅ April 25, 2015

Those beads are really pretty, and the color is actually pretty true here. I think I will re-do it so the spirals are more like the other one. I was never a big bracelet person, but I'm finding out I love them. My MIL is kind of a crazy jewelry hoarder and in the past year or two has been giving me a bunch of her stuff, including about a million bracelets. So I've been wearing more of them. They're lots of fun to make.

noko April 25, 2015

A few months back I went with my sister to this big bead emporium place as she wanted to make a bracelet. I found it overwhelming the amount of choice one has. These are lovely and of course you will notice every tiny thing because you made them!

edna million noko ⋅ April 25, 2015

I get totally overwhelmed in bead shops - if I have something specific I want it's fine, but otherwise I get overwhelmed and end up not being able to decide on anything.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.