Another Wacky Dream in My this and that

  • Feb. 19, 2015, 9:26 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Lent has started. YAY! I always look forward to this time of year, and Easter is my favourite holiday, so we know that’s coming up soon!

I had a wacky dream again last night. I dreamt that I went on a date, encouraged by my husband, with a guy I met online. In fact, Ben decided to join us for part of our date, but then got bored and decided to go home and play video games. The guy was nice, but for some reason the date seemed kind of strained… maybe because we both knew it wasn’t going anywhere. Eventually he took me back to his place and went to bed. I mean, he went to bed, while his sister took me out for a very nice dinner at a very expensive restaurant, to finish of the date her brother had started. She was really rude to everyone in the restaurant, eating food off of other people’s tables, and demanding we get free stuff. It was kind of embarrassing.
In the end I asked if she thought her brother would be interested in a blind date; because I have a friend who is single, and I thought they’d hit it off.

In real life I do have a single friend, and she does want to meet a great guy… somehow that carried over into my dream. It was like I was “predating” guys to make sure she wasn’t going to waste her time if she decided to go out with them.

I’m so weird.

We went to see The Imitation Game last night, which was quite delightful. I was talking to Ben about how I felt the climax of the movie wasn’t very climactic to me… and he mentioned that that’s just kind of how life is… It’s not like a movie where there’s a big climax and then everyone lives happily ever after. Good point.


Deleted user February 19, 2015

Do you find that Lent is your favorite time of year because you make it a positive experience? I know that many in the Church actually struggle with depression through Lent. How do you mark the season?

Gurly239 Deleted user ⋅ February 20, 2015

I think it helps that Lent is also during spring, so that alone gives me a boost. But the fact that Lent is a chance for me to stop focusing on ME means I'm less depressed too. It's kind of a freeing time, though it isn't always easy to make a sacrifice, it's definitely a time when I feel that my priorities are closer to being right than a lot of other times. God is a major focus during lent; as he should be all year, but as an imperfect creature I tend to forget that sometimes.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.