* Deep Thinking * in Just Stuff

  • Feb. 19, 2015, 12:10 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Look from object to object within your view–people included. Try to find
the two objects that are at the ends of your like/dislike spectrum; one
object is, well, objectionable, and the other is highly desirable. Judge
these two by the same standard such as “cash value” or “physical beauty”.

Now scan recent memory and try to come up with two experiences you’ve had
that are, again, at the opposite ends of your like/dislike spectrum.

Now imagine two experiences that have NOT happened to you, but very well
could happen to you within the near future that are at the opposite ends of
the spectrum.

Continuing, see if you can easily pick out from your entire life two
experiences that are at the top and the bottom the list of your life’s
spectrum. Your highest point and your lowest point so to speak. Don’t
strain, just get a couple of experiences that are “up there” and “down
there” or “close to it”.

Finally, imagine two events that you think are almost certainly impossible
and extremely unlikely to happen to you, but by a remote chance, (if you got
lucky or unlucky) COULD happen, and if they did indeed happen would be at
the opposite ends of your dislike/like spectrum. These experiences should
be normal human everyday experiences. Don’t go for the “wild stuff”. Keep
it fairly probable–don’t think about winning the lottery or getting
attacked by genetically engineered pit-bunnies.

Ask yourself,
How does my question “What is the worst experience that has happened to me
in the last few days?” result in the fairly immediate reply “I had a small
tickle in my nose and almost had to sneeze.”? Where does “tickle” get
understood by my brain as “worst”?

How does my mind understand what I am saying to it? How does it pull
something out of memory for me almost instantly when I have had so many
experiences?

How does my nervous system create a list of “everything that’s happened to
me”, order it into a like/dislike list, and then report back to me one of
the ends of the list–all within a flash of time?

Is memory a miracle constantly happening inside my head?

When I have considered such a wide spectrum of real and imaginable events,
why was my mind so “accepting” of the “bad” thoughts about the negative ends
of those lists? Why don’t I have automatic processes that turn my attention
away from most bad “things” or, at least, create a strongly noticeable
feeling of discomfort? Why do I feel so invulnerable and safe from any
consequences from having negative thoughts?

Is perception a form of love? When I perceive anything, am I in fact
loving it–in that I allow it within my mind–as if it were an invited guest
in my home?

How is it that I can entertain so many different kinds of thoughts within
my mind so graciously? Am I the “perfect host” at a “great big
thought-party”? Do I stroll among my “guests” amicably accepting them in a
supremely nonjudgmental way? Am I a “thought saint”?

When my real life loved ones do something that angers me, why am I
unwilling to “amicably accept” what they have done? What happens to my “thought-party” then that I’m suddenly tossing a guest out of the house or
wishing he/she would leave? Why can’t I have those thoughts and be gracious
still?

If I can read the following sentence without much flinching or squirming in
discomfort, why is it so hard to have other thoughts about my loved one’s
behaviors? “Thousands of children die every day.”

How do I decide when a thought is not “just a thought”?

Am I prejudiced against my loved ones? Do I have a double standard for
thoughts?

What kind of thought parties do I throw? Are they more like tea-parties or
keggers?

If I were going to throw the best thought party I can imagine, who would I
invite?

Would they come?

Regards,
Rick


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.