NJM-11 in NoJoMo13

  • Nov. 12, 2013, 12:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

My daddy was a decorated Army Veteran. He served in Korea. He said once that he saw some pretty horrible things there, but he would never talk about those things. My guess is that he spent the rest of his life trying to forget them.

That's my mama's handwriting. This was the first picture of himself that he ever gave her. She told me once that she used to sleep with it tucked into her pillowcase.
Handsome devil, wasn't he? He was always a very smiley man, but the Army's stance was that a smile was non-regulation, since they didn't issue it. Hence, the serious expression.

Thank you, Daddy.


And, for all the freedoms I enjoy as a citizen of the United States of America, my sincere thank you to all of our Veterans. If any of you want to, please leave a note letting me know you (or a loved one) are a Veteran, which branch of the Military you served in, and where you served. That way I'll have some names in mind when I light a candle of rememberance for all of you tonight. Again, thank you.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.