Two Things; BIG News in Diary

  • Feb. 15, 2015, 9:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

1) I had my second interview for a job on Thursday. It was very intense and went on for about 90 minutes. It was unlike any other job interview I’d had before, the interviewer just wanted to know about me as a person. Every time he asked me a question and I referred back to my previous experience or my CV, he would say “I know all this, it’s on your CV, I want to know about YOU.” I got questions like do I really want to quit my dog walking business because it was bad business model? What would I say if he came to me and said my work was a load of rubbish? What is roller derby, do you skate around and hit each other with hockey sticks? It took me a whil to get into it but I eventually got on a roll and think I said a lot of the right things. Judging from the way he kept saying “I’m glad you said that.” quite often ;o)

Jay’s friend Matt works there and he knew I was having my interview. In fact, he works in the IT department and he was the one who set up the laptop for my typing test. All through the interview, he kept walking past, trying to look nonchalant but it was obvious he was spying on us! My interviewer joked “I’ve never seen Matt walking around as much as he has done today!” Then asked me “So, tell me about Matt, how would you describe him?” What’s that got to do with anything??

Well anyway, I was the only one they interviewed on Thursday; the others are going in tomorrow but I couldn’t make it. Matt said he overheard them afterwards saying something along the lines of “Unless any of the others are phenomenal, I think she’s a go.” Sounds positive! Two weeks from now I could be getting ready to start my new job!

2) Yesterday was Valentine’s Day. Jay’s gift to me was this book:

I thought it was strange as I already have the LOTR books, and this one was REALLY light, I was confused. He told me to open it, and then I discovered the reason it was so light was because it was hollowed out inside…

YIPPEEE! After almost six years together, owning a house together for over two years and he finally got around to asking me! :-D Of course I said yes…

I don’t have my ring yet, I have two “practice” rings because he wasn’t sure what size I was, so he’s going to order that and it’ll be here in a few weeks.

It will be a little like this, but made of white gold with a real black diamond (I didn’t know there was such a thing!) about half this size.

I’m already going mad with planning, I’ve been dreaming of this my whole life! I have a Pinterest board with pinned pictures of everything I had already planned lol. Jay has asked Rob to be his best man (he asked Rob before he asked me!) and I’ve asked my sister and nieces to be bridesmaids :o)

I got my mam and dad on Skype and mam cried when I told her. I made Jay ask my dad’s permission and dad said “Yeah, you can have her.” Lovely!

Things I had already planned include this as a gift for my dad. When I was growing up, we were off climbing mountains together every weekend :o)

These shoes! Irregular Choice! I’ve loved them forever!

This cake. I would love to have a Tim Burton themed wedding but I don’t know if I could persude Jay ;o)

And these custom made Converse shoes for dancing in the evening. Jay loves Converse so I would like to surprise him with them :o) Obviously they would have our names on them, not Loveluck…

All little details to come later, we need to sort the big stuff first like a date, venue and guest list! Eeeeeeeep! :-D

Right, back to work for me, more dogs to walk and cats to feed. I’m exhausted.


Last updated February 15, 2015


Hypnotica February 15, 2015

Congratulations! Can't believe you had this all pinned already haha. I'm getting married in 5 months and still have no cake!

Bomb Shell Hypnotica ⋅ February 15, 2015

Well, they weren't actually pinned on Pinterest until earlier today, I just had it all in my head lol :o) Do you have ideas or leads for a cake?

Mum of Yum February 15, 2015

When you said Big News - I just knew!!! Congratulations!!

wintergrey February 15, 2015

Yay!!! Congratulations!!!

Babe In Toyland February 15, 2015

Poor John has been nagged and nagged all this afternoon by various family members about us getting married, poor lad!
I love all your choices. Of course.

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ February 15, 2015

Oh sorry. It bugs me when people do that, me and Jay have had it at every single wedding we've been to. We have two weddings to go to this year, at least now it will change from "When are you getting married?" to "It's your turn next." :op

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ February 15, 2015

Lol, don't apologise! It's not your fault!

Waterfire February 15, 2015

Congrats!

Babe In Toyland February 15, 2015

Are you planning on changing your name?

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ February 15, 2015

Yeah I probably will, and spend the rest of my life having a name that no one has heard of. I think most of the time I'll probably just use the first half of the surname as that's easy!

~Twinkle~ February 15, 2015

Congratulations!, xx

Camdengirl February 15, 2015

Oh congratulations!

puffin February 15, 2015

Yusssss!!! So pleased!!! You have so many details already, I love it!! Choosing a venue was so hard for me, you just gotta imagine yourself at the places and see if it seems right!
Can't wait to see your ring. Also i want to hear about every stage of the planning..so I can steal ideas! Xxx

Bomb Shell puffin ⋅ February 15, 2015

Ah I've had these details in my head for years lol. Now I finally have permission to make them real! No problem on that front, I'm going to bore everyone silly ;-) I'm already thinking of stealing your venue though!

Mel February 16, 2015

Congratulations!!!!

Babe In Toyland February 17, 2015

Could I look at your Pintrest board please? I'm Sick of the thousands of questions from Bel!

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ February 17, 2015

If you like, it's open to the public. I only have the four pins that I posted in this entry at the moment, but you can bookmark it if you like. What's Bel asking? Tell her not to get too excited, we need to save up and make a lot of decisions before anything's going to happen!
https://uk.pinterest.com/shelliem1210/wedding/

What has she been asking?

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ February 17, 2015

OK scrap that, I've gone a bit mad with it now...

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ February 17, 2015

I can't remember exactly, but she asked loads of questions about the colour and style of dress you're going for!

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ February 18, 2015

Ah right, well I've added some photos of dresses I like, so that's probably the sort of thing I'll get :o) Ballgown style with a train, eeeee!

Lucretia February 17, 2015

Congratulations that's fantastic news! I wasn't sure he had it in him but the boy's done good. It's great to see you so excited x

Bomb Shell Lucretia ⋅ February 17, 2015

Me either, I was beginning to think he'd never get round to it! I've gone a bit mad already with Pinterest, spreadsheets and lists...

Lucretia Bomb Shell ⋅ February 18, 2015

That's fab, you should be excited! And I know so many lasses who've had secret Pinterest boards for years; you're actually being quite restrained :)

Vee February 18, 2015

Congratulations! It's about time :-)

Deleted user February 19, 2015

All these things are all so cute, I'm so happy for you!!

Deleted user February 19, 2015

OMFG CONGRATS!!!!!!!!! SO HAPPY FOR YOU!!!!

history of love March 11, 2015

What a lovely, fabulous way to propose! Congratulations for both the engagement and the new job! :)
Love the shoes, btw. And the cake.
x

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.