The Stolen Whole. in Always Recovering, Never Recovered.

  • Feb. 15, 2015, 10:41 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

You stole things from me.

So soundlessly subtly, so slowly, I never took the time to even realise your crime; and in shadows where I couldn’t see, you slipped shiftless palms into my pockets, and stole my personality.

You stole the passions and pleasures, the person I was; the building-block bric-a-brac that made me myself. The reader and rambler and writer, the artist and rocker and rider; the person with ideas and interests and quirks. Complex, contradictory, unusual, unashamed; either you stole her, or I gave her away.

The punk-rock girl buckled into stomping black boots, wearing rainbows of bracelets in stacks up both arms, playing kiss-chase with boys across the beer-sticky dancefloors of dirty dive clubs. The girl with horizons as wide as her eyes; exhilarated, excited, freefalling into friendships and feelings and life. Who laughed with her head back until her ribs ached, who walked miles through soft-sunlit summers built of woodlands and lakes, who devoured history and watched horses race, in enthralled appreciation of their rhythmic-patterned paces and fluid liquid grace.

She sketched with her words and wrote poems in paint, collected knowledge like seashells and read to discover; she thought in diagonals and lived in dimensions, revelled in excelling and outstripped expectations. She never took photographs, because she could say with the firm faith of youth that it would always be this way; her head was full of colour because she lived it every day.

I wish I had photographs, now, just to prove she existed; just to prove I was something before I was you.

I cut her to pieces and carved up my life; controlled-calorie portions plated up on a platter of self-loathing sauce, I choke on the servings like swallowing a noose. Everything I’ve achieved since the age of eighteen can be measured and summarised in inches and pounds, sliced into fractions and quantified; the endless quest for emptiness leaves nothing else inside. So it isn’t surprising that now I weigh less, because now I am hollow, a void, an abyss.

All those endless thoughts about killing myself; and I never even realised I have already done it.


Mr. Mofo February 15, 2015

Only one thing for you to do, Sugarbritches, and that's pick yourself up, and reform yourself. Scars and all.

Waiting For Sunrise Mr. Mofo ⋅ February 15, 2015

Gonna try... first session of a new program tomorrow :)

Mr. Mofo Waiting For Sunrise ⋅ February 15, 2015

A new program of what?

Don't stay strong, Sugarbritches. Strong people are brittle and break easily. Stay cool, and flow.

Deleted user February 16, 2015

not an artist but appreciate one. and you are one. my goodness you are gorgeous in your writing. It hits home (except for the painting parts lol and jealous of that). Anyone would make you feel any despair isn't worth it.

in regards to your message... I need closure. I need one last hug. I need to know it wasn't a fake bullshit love. I need it. As much as no one would ever support that, understandably, I need it. lol here I am talking about myself.

good luck with whatever you're going through. you definitely don't make it obvious with your beautiful words :)

Waiting For Sunrise Deleted user ⋅ February 18, 2015

Thank you so much :)

I see what you mean about needing that closure, and although people may not understand your need, they will still support you! I hope he stops being such a source of pain and disappointment to you, you're worth way more than his constant let-downs. Even if you never end up getting that last hug, I hope you can move on knowing that just because it may not be love now, doesn't mean it never was. Something can still have existed without lasting forever. x

Park Row Fallout February 17, 2015

The Yoda in me comes out a little here: For as we age and experience new things, who we once were always remains a memory- replaced over and over again with the people we are, will become, and will remember as memories later.
The hardest thing for me to ever accept (still haven't) is that The Past versions of ourselves can never be us again. No matter what. Not really, anyway. But... I'm excited to see where you go from here... what Future Version of Yourself the world will experience

invisible ink February 17, 2015

Darling..... you are still so much alive.... your words fill the world with so much ... you just have to allow yourself to feel it...

LoveSuicide May 10, 2015

I'm not going to bullshit you. Plus on my phone I'm limited in my responses.

I believe you are more than you think.

I also think you might feel that way too. .and it terrifies you.

I'm rather exceptional in this way. Take my hand if you'd like and we shall find beauty within your. . Angst. Your body. Your heart.

Your face.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.