There is something . . . in It's a llittle llazy over here

  • Feb. 12, 2015, 8:13 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

. . . oddly fascinating about a mechanical watch.

I currently have four watches that I wear, plus another one that’ll be sold at some point in the near future. It’s not quite a ‘collection’ . . . they’re all quite different in looks and functionality, so they all get a run-out. If I ever do get to the point where I have 30 or so watches taking up shelf space, please feel free to come round and slap some sense into me.

Only one of them is a mechanical. All the others are quartz, with my main day-to-day casual watch being a solar atomic Casio G-Shock that’s accurate to something ridiculous like 4ms at any given time because it syncs to an atomic clock every night via radio.

By comparison, my automatic Rotary (for work/formal wear) is stupidly inaccurate and has no features apart from the fact that it’s a skeleton watch, so you can see the movement working away. I couldn’t possibly justify getting a luxury mechanical (not to mention the maintenance costs), and even the finest luxury Swiss watch is still obsolete technology that’s blown out of the water for accuracy by any ten pound digital watch you care to buy.

But there’s something fascinating about a mechanical watch. I think it’s the tick . . . it feels more alive because you can see and hear the machinery at work, while a quartz movement is quiet and efficient and accurate and somehow a just bit cold by comparison.

Crazyness. Possibly I’m becoming an old man early.

We are having our new bathroom done in two weeks. We’ve got the suite and the tiles now. We need a cabinet and some vinyl flooring (easiest solution for a small bathroom like ours). Oh the fun.

It’s performance review time again in a couple of months. Fun. Otherwise, work’s going OK, which is nice. Had to go to London this week, which sucked a little but not too much. . . . Had to go last week as well. It just sucks the life out of your day having to do that commute.

We’re all getting work mobiles in a couple of months as well. Used to be Management grades only unless there was a specific case, but it’s open season now. The future is mobile.

Luckily, all work mobiles come with an off switch. I will be sure to make use of that.


unimportant February 15, 2015

Have you noticed that not many people wear watches at all these days? I guess they figure there's a clock on their cell phones, so they don't need a watch. I still wear one because I don't carry my cell phone all the time, and even if I did, it's a lot more convenient to look at my watch than to pull a phone out of my pocket to look at the clock.

zizi42 unimportant ⋅ March 05, 2015

Oh yes. . . lot of people with no watches around this way. But I agree with you. . . more convenient to have one, and they're also pretty. It's allowable man bling, I guess. ;)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.