TURN TURN TURN in Laughing in Circles

  • Aug. 8, 2013, 7:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Let me tell you how things have worked for me since (dun-dun-duuuuuuuuh) The Big Attack!

First, I waited a week as this wasn't my first round with vertigo. baha! When I realized I wasn't only NOT getting better, but now I was being visited by illuminated dandelion heads, and head pain the likes of which had me considering death as being an inviting fellow, I set an appointment with my GP. My memory here is a little spotty, but when the nurse saw me walking, a term I use rather loosely, she took total leave of her mind and asked, 'Are you okay?' Worst migraine of my life, visual disturbances people pay for at concerts, and a great imitation of the town drunk as I leaned against walls to stop them from melting into the patterned carpets AND I'm seeing the doctor - and this nurse wants to know if I'm okay.

"What did you say?"

"Room 3."

That's what I thought! 'Am I okay'?!

As is common in vestibular situations, I have now embarked on the journey to meeting EVERY. MEDICAL. PROFESSIONAL. this side of the Mississippi.

See the ENT, who refers me to the Audiologist, who refers me to a Neurologist, who refers me to Diagnostic Imaging for an MRI, the findings of which lead to the Migraine Associated Vertigo diagnosis. Among other things, my triggers (common in MAVers) are patterns, fluorescent lights.

So get a load of this! The hallway to my neuro's office.

If I'm not exceptionally dizzy when I go in, by the time I leave, I'm popping Valiums like Tic-Tacs, and stuffing the suggestion box with necessarily unsigned notes.


Four years later, and in the space of 2 weeks, I've seen the GP, the Neuro, the ENT, and the Audiologist. Weather fronts are moving through - and they're stronger than the new medication.


Pintador August 08, 2013

Pintador is in the house!

MJ's Page Pintador ⋅ August 08, 2013

Yeah, Baby!!! Will you write, here?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.