Irreverent Humor in Laughing in Circles

  • Aug. 8, 2013, 8:33 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

If you haven't caught it, I am a private patient advocate. Not only do I take care of the daily tasks of bathing, giving meds, and other necessities, but I fight with insurance companies, insure proper staffing for my patient's hospital care (she's a full quad), doctor shop with her, and accompany her to all doctor visits. And - on those days when it strikes both our fancies, we go shopping.

This story happened back in the day when she could still control her electric wheelchair.

On this day, having just freed her from the van, she headed across the parking lot while I stowed the van's lift as per usual. I byuped the locks, and headed after this friend of mine when I noticed her rolling herself in through the exit.

Ordinarily, I'm not an evil person - but I AM certifiable! I decided to tap into my 'crazy' - and knowing Di, I knew it would give her a good chuckle. SO, I began to run towards her and yelled, "HEY, LADY! Just because you're handicapped doesn't give you the right to go in any door you want!!!"

As expected - Di about choked on her own spit, she was laughing so hard, and I had tears rolling down my leg (not really). What I hadn't counted on were the customers who had sort of gathered there, by the greeter, with confused looks on their faces. And off we went, still chuckling.

And THAT, my friends, is how you place joy above symptoms!


Rick August 09, 2013

Very funny, and exceedingly brilliant way of bringing joy where there might otherwise be none.

hot-lips August 09, 2013

Ha! great story. I'm sure you got quite a few odd looks, which makes the joke even funnier.

LordSnooty August 09, 2013

nice story I skipped the last entry just because of the title I figured tmi.

MJ's Page LordSnooty ⋅ August 09, 2013

No...really.... you should read. Not TMI at all.

LordSnooty MJ's Page ⋅ August 09, 2013

I also book marked you until I figure out if I like you enough to continue reading lol joke don't kill me lol.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.