10 Years Ago I flagged a train... in Roundtrip Ticket to Paradise 2

  • Feb. 9, 2015, 9:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I think I wrote about it in my old Open Diary… but I forget whether or not. I do know I was going down to Anchorage to visit with ND. She, by the way, was the first woman not related to me to say, “I love you” to me… not in the fake plastic Hollywood way of “Thanks, babe, I love ya!” but rather in the sense of affirming me.

She is gay.

On the Sunday morning in question, I ate breakfast at Sam’s Sourdough Cafe, then ambled out to the University Avenue railroad crossing. A little while later, I saw the headlights of the approaching train. I had a copy of the Fairbanks Sunday newspaper, and waved it at the engineer. He responded with three blasts on the horn (on the train while underway, three blasts means “obstruction on the track, STOPPING NOW”), then whistled for the crossing, two long blasts, a short, and then a long.

The train stopped right atop the crossing, and the conductor, busy with punching tickets, noticed me standing there waiting to board. He signed to ask if I was boarding, I replied that I was, then he opened the door and lowered the stairs.

I entered the coach, and a bunch of Japanese tourists noticed me. One said, “Oh, Alaskan… flagged train!” and with a bunch of clicks I am now in a fair number of Japanese photo albums.

ND is gay. I sent her a Valentine Day card yesterday in which I noted, “In your darkest hours, please do note I care for you and I care about you.”

Such is life.


Deleted user February 09, 2015

::hugs::

Everything Good Rebecca February 10, 2015

I'm hoping you'll have some of that bravado (or courage?) the next time opportunity approaches in a relationship too!

Everything Good Rebecca February 19, 2015

I just learned of Uber and know this could be for you! What do you think? Uber.com

World Pilot Everything Good Rebecca ⋅ February 19, 2015

Mmmm... right now Uber is under a court order to not charge (or allow its drivers to charge) for rides. They are fighting the Anchorage Municipality to slide around the taxi regulations... which in itself, I think, speaks volumes about the company. Uber bills itself as a ride-request app, not a transportation company. I took a look through their driver application, as far as I could get without giving personal information. Something about Uber gives me a gut twinge - and you know how I feel about gut twinges.
Furthermore, is the driver application a one-time thing? To me, using Uber is the electronic equivalent of going out to the roadside and thumbing a ride. How do you know that the driver is (still) licensed and insured? There is no chauffeur license required of the driver, so you don't know anything of the driver. How do you know that he hasn't subsequently been convicted of something that would make you not want to ride with him?
I'd rather go with an established company that has insurance in force, a current business license, and be able to show the passengers a current chauffeur license (including driver transcript and Trooper report).
-hug-

World Pilot Everything Good Rebecca ⋅ February 19, 2015

In addition, Uber has been banned from New Delhi, India, for several driver attacks on vulnerable women (that missing background check, again). Do I want to associate myself with such lowlifes?

No.

Everything Good Rebecca World Pilot ⋅ February 20, 2015

Thank you for such complete reviews and answers about this transportation thing I heard of yesterday through a PB favorite (who was thinking of encouraging her immigrant husband to do this). I like several of your excellent points, including the potential threats to unsuspecting passengers. Of course you would avoid affiliation with such an organization, and I'm glad to know more of the rest of the story now. Thanks!

Everything Good Rebecca May 12, 2015

It has been too long since I heard from you! I recognize that just maybe I ought to send a paper note but I'm of the Internet line and I remember that we first made friends online, so...

Seriously, no word in March or April and now nearly half of May? I trust no news is good news, as the saying goes. Maybe you went on to one of the other diary/blog sites, but even if so, I hope you'll be back here.

Everything Good Rebecca June 16, 2015

Where did you go? I'm missing your insights and well, your usual talking here about life. I hope you're well, in all ways.

World Pilot's brother July 23, 2015

Hi Acceber (and any other of WP's friends who may happen upon this):

I'm afraid I have some sad news to account for his absence here: WP passed away on March 2 due to an unexpected cardiac event.

He was not the type of person to be a part of a community in real life, so we're happy he was able to connect with his various online communities over the years. Thank you all for being his friends.

RIP World Pilot

Everything Good Rebecca World Pilot's brother ⋅ July 28, 2015

Oh I am so sorry to hear this, and do want to say thank you for letting us know. I miss him dearly and am so sorry for his loss as I'm sure his siblings, niece, and parents will miss him even more.

Deleted user December 19, 2015

Hope u are ok

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.