Disappointing in Another Open Diary refugee

  • Feb. 7, 2015, 9:09 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My new knee brace arrived in the mail yesterday… the box and plastic mailing bag were SHREDDED! The brace was okay… but unfortunately when I tried it on it’s a piece of junk. It’s supposed to have spiral stays in the sides and while I can see them there, they’re pathetically soft, so it’s not going to stabilise my knee properly. I tried the brace on and my knee was wobbling all over the place. And the brace itself was way worse quality than the ACE one I buy in Walgreens. I sent Amazon a return request and we’ll see how long it takes the seller to get back to me, and hopefully send a return label so I can get my money back. Unless I can go to an actual store and try a brace on, I’m going to stick with the ACE brace - it’s comfortable, firm enough to support my knee properly, and relatively cheap… the only snag is that the velcro is a little short for me and the straps come undone, but I’m going to try to sew some more on to extend it.

Our shower has been dripping when you try to turn it off, and John was going to try to fix the tap, but it turns out that the screw is entirely missing and the hole for it is majorly corroded. He told the landlord and somebody’s going to take a look at it on Monday because it’s not the handheld head that’s leaking, it’s the tap on the wall. In the meantime, we had to go to the hardware store and get a cheap handheld shower head for the other shower, and then I had to scrub down the cat’s bathroom so that we can use that shower over the weekend… we haven’t ever used it before, but at least I insisted on putting up a proper shower curtain and liner in case we needed it, so we didn’t have to buy them today.

While I was at the hardware store I got a cheap lamp for the bedroom, a swiffer with an extra-long extension pole so I can clean the ceiling fans without climbing on the stepstool, and a cute decorative ‘nightlight lilly’… It’s a vase of fake flowers with little lights down inside the flowers so they glow, and it’s really pretty. It’s called a Bloomlite and I was going to post the pic from the Home Depot website but it really doesn’t do it justice. I might get one for the guest bathroom too because I love how it looks… I think it was a good use for another piece of my Christmas money. they had lovely nightlight orchids too, but the orchids were thirty dollars and the lillies were only fifteen so I got the cheaper one. And I went to Walmart to buy another roll of duck tape to finish recovering my cane, but they didn’t have any of the right one and the cane’s half done… I had to come home and HUNT online to try to find the proper pattern - turned out it was NINE dollars on Amazon and only three at Walmart, so I ordered a roll for store pickup… it’ll be a couple of weeks before they get it, but it’s not urgent. In the meantime I just have to use the blue cane every day… still want to buy a new cane so I have a choice, but not in a hurry now. I’ll wait till I find one I really like somewhere.


Last updated February 07, 2015


^..^Kat February 09, 2015

I'm glad you had two bathrooms so the shower leak wasn't a huge issue. I have a bath and a half, but having another shower would be awesome.

Everything Good Rebecca February 10, 2015

Ick!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.