Nice Things in Diary

  • Feb. 6, 2015, 12:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today had just a couple of nice little things which made it all the nicer. Firstly, the bad dream I had this morning. I know, bad dreams are bad, but when you wake up from them it makes real life seem so much better! haha. One of the dreams was that me and Jay had split up (I have no idea why) and I was going out with his younger brother (he doesn’t have a brother…) but I wasn’t happy and wanted Jay back. I walked into a pub and he looked angry and upset and walked into the corner to smoke cigars with his mates (he doesn’t smoke cigars…). I asked his mate Matt (finally, something that really exists!) if he thought he would take me back and he said he wouldn’t. I was really upset in my dream and so relieved when I woke up and realised I’ve still got him :o)

Then one of my customers rang up and cancelled today’s appointment, but still paid me for it, which was nice. So I only had three dogs to walk today and worked for a grand total of 2.5 hours. Tomorrow and Sunday I even have two full days off with no dogs at all! It’s my first days off for 32 days and then I have at least another 33 days of work before another day off. So I’m making the most of the free time I have, taking time to relax. Unfortunately, Jay has plans for the weekend which involve clearing out the loft and taking trips to the tip. We had a survey done on Wednesday for some new loft insulation and the bloke said they can’t do it because there’s loads of big pieces of rubble up there which were left behind when the previous owners did some work on the house. So me and Jay will be doing that this weekend. Joyous.

The third nice thing that happened was Jay giving away a gig ticket that belonged to me. This is a good thing, really! It’s a band called Sleaford Mods, who I hate, and the gig is way down in south Birmingham which is a right pain to get to, involving trains and buses and all sorts. Jay really wanted to go but couldn’t find anyone to go with so I said I would accompany him. Anyway, his cousin originally had plans on that night, but they’ve now been cancelled and he’s now available. He actually likes this band, so hooray, he’s taking my ticket! Now I don’t have to waste a night trekking across the city to see a band I hate, and Jay and his cousin can have a nice night out together doing something they both enjoy.

The fourth nice thing that happened was that the five hour “assessment centre” I’d been invited to for a job has turned into a regular one-to-one interview. This is much better because I didn’t fancy giving up five hours of work for, what I assumed to be, group exercises or what not. The salary is a bit lower than I was hoping for but it’s only three miles away, so, if I got it (there I go again), I would be saving £1,800 a year on petrol compared to my last job, so it would work out almost the same anyway.

Roller derby tonight. Still enjoying it. We had another go at timed laps on Wednesday. It took me months and months to get up to 23 laps in five minutes. To pass Minimum Skills to get onto the B-team, we have to be able to do 27 laps, among a whole host of other skills. On Wednesday I got 25.5 which is my best so far. I was really pleased with that because there were loads of other people on the track so I didn’t even get into a proper rhythm until lap 14, plus I wasn’t at all prepared for it and I’m still on cheap skates with crappy plates, so I reckon I could probably do it if I pushed myself enough and sorted my skates out.


~Twinkle~ February 07, 2015

Yay for nice things xx

Lucretia February 08, 2015

I refuse to go and see bands I'm not fussed about, it's always a bad experience, especially when randoms start talking to you about 'how amazing the band is' and you're like 'erm... no'. It's awkward, it's no fun at all. Definitely a good thing you got shot of the ticket.

Bomb Shell Lucretia ⋅ February 08, 2015

Oh, me and Jay have an agreement. If one of us wants to go and see a band and the other one isn't bothered, the one who wants to go will buy two tickets and the other will accompany them if they can't find anyone else to go with. This way, we've both seen bands we're not fussed about but we've also both got to see bands we want to see and would have been alone otherwise. Give and take :o)

Vee February 08, 2015

Glad you had a couple of nice days and just to say it was nice meeting you. :-) x x

Bomb Shell Vee ⋅ February 08, 2015

It was nice to meet you too! I wrote about it in a previous entry but I just realised it was part of a 'friends only' entry and I hadn't added you to my friends list for some reason, but I have now! :o)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.