That Four-Letter Word. in And The Rest.

  • Feb. 5, 2015, 8:34 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I thought, for the most part, that words were my friends.

Puzzle pieces with interlocking edges, interlacing in landscapes of rhythm and rhyme; sketches of shadow in shades of phonetics, a resonance of violence in vivid visceral verbs. Scooping smooth, shifting handfuls of sand-grain emotions and sifting them, fingertips finding the flinty glass shard to effect the reflection of what is inside. The cool clay of self-expression can sit softly submissive in the heat of my palm; stack them up and knock them down, words are the contours and corners of my world.

But this four-letter ball of barbed wire, this fistful of brambles, draws blood.

It sews my lips shut with stitches of scarred scabbing sutures; spiked spines spear the flesh of my choking throat and it’s stuck there, claw-hooks sunk in sharp and serrated, thorny gorse claws tearing tracks in my tongue.

(help)

(help me, please help me, I’m so close to the edge I can feel the fall and what’s worse is I want it; I’m scared of myself)

Something stamps on my sternum when I try to see futures further off than today, smashing my ribs into splinters and shards and grinding them with hard heavy heels into the pulp of my heart; savage shaking shockwaves of physical pain at the thought of another week, month or year; still here. I can’t remember what a resting heartbeat feels like, it’s constantly racing, constricting, convulsing; I can’t remember how to breathe without the rapid echo of panic a rattling ricochet in my throat.

My head is an open wound split wide across the skull, I keep trying to stuff it with the cotton-wool and gauze of routine and reality but nothing stops the bleeding; streaming liquid self-loathing still runs rivers of vicious viscous crimson down the sides of my face.

I can’t stop doing dangerous things. I can’t stop wanting to leave just the same way I’ve lived, solitary, silent and selfish; a pointless worthless waste. I can’t stop wanting to tear myself out of existence along the perforations of my myriad mistakes and leave the smallest hole I can; a little well of resentment and grief that I hope will just heal into scars of relief.

(please please help me, I’m drowned in this spiral, I’m over my head and it’s so overwhelming, sometimes I think I could just beg anyone to be there for a moment, just for a moment, so I could throw it up all over them, as though getting it out might stop me feeling so sick)

How dare I even wish I deserved to be helped, when I’ve spent a whole lifetime destroying myself? I don’t deserve anything but to shut up and swallow the cold caustic consequences of my own worthless weakness; all that I am is entirely my fault. All those endless years rebuilding, relapsing, continually collapsing under the unsufferable weight of my arsenic mind; I built my own internal torture chamber and I’m so completely, cripplingly, ashamed of the mess that I’ve made. I don’t know what to reach for, I don’t know what I think could save me if I can’t save myself.

I just want it to be over, I just want to be free.


invisible ink February 05, 2015

Heart wrenching read. Life is difficult.... add the addictive personality disorder (which I sadly know all too well) and life barriers seem overwhelming at times...yet the stress dissipates. As it will for you...

Park Row Fallout February 05, 2015

Every word of this felt like an artistic flow of vocal poetry... like... if you'll excuse the potential for offense... I'd love to watch a woman read this and just stare at her lips as she makes the sounds come out.
That being said... humans, life, and the interactions between are never simple. But contemplating help (for many) is a huge thing in itself. Because we so badly want to never need help. Or think we are unworthy of it. Or think that if we don't know what to reach for, we shouldn't reach for anything. All of this seems perfectly logical, but it can hurt us in the long run. It is never bad to ask for help... and a friend once told me this (as I, too, often think I'm unworthy of receiving aid:
"Help is an interesting concept, because it is self-conditioning. Whether a person feels worthy of pain or pleasure; the only condition attached to help is needing it. So if help is needed, than the problem/issue/person merits help."

May be weird, may be rambling but... figured you could hear it, too. :)

Deleted user February 06, 2015

So many feel your words!!
Perception is key .. Change is relevant .. And Natural .. Xx

MReitz February 06, 2015

Beautiful...
We all need help sometimes, whether we think we deserve it or not. Usually the ones who think they don't deserve it are the ones who appreciate it when help does arrive...

Phade February 06, 2015

I was there once before and I'm only emerging from a mess just recently after years, though still in the gray, still in the mist, but there are pinpricks of sunlight poking through now. I just keep moving. Following my own footsteps. Only time will tell if I'm only going in circles or walking over the edge or if the horizon means something. But you just keep walking.

aglow February 09, 2015

<33

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.