Railroad stuff that happened How Engineers were paid and related tales. in Tales of the Jointed Track

  • Feb. 5, 2015, 9:14 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

When I hired out, the engine crews were paid on the basis of weight on drivers. I see the question “What is that?” You add up the weight of each locomotive in your consist, totaled up, and look at the pay chart, per Railroad and Union collective bargaining agreements. All arbitrary pay was factored off of that weight. So if ya go 36 miles Initial terminal pay, that was 36% of the weight factor pay. Easy right …lol Took me a bit to figure it out.

Unfortunately I haven’t found an old time book that had the rates.

Bill Spicer Engineer Train 151 vs Russell Heath Train 594.

Russell got called for the 594. I know that pissed him off, tonnage and 3 or 4 units. Hey, we all have paid penance on the 594. Its a drag and a crappy train, hello!!! Yer getting paid. I don’t think when I hired on, they said, you’ll always have fast trains and premium on duty times…LOL Did not happen. Russell knows better, but he’s a cranky bitter old man.

Bill Spicer gets a 151, running late. Twelve count ‘em Twelve units 40 cars and it is a flyer. He’s called 6 hours behind Russell and he catches him at Littleton. They get the instructions and yard their respective trains.

They are now at the Roundhouse tying up. Russell, I can see the bitterness and sneering. I have experienced that, and we had words when he got outta line. I respect the old heads, but when abusive, well I wasn’t respectful.

Bill says “God Damn Twelve Locomotives, I don’t know how I’ll fit them all on this time slip”. Oh he did that just to set up and barb Russell.

Russels says “Well if I had 12 units!! I’d find a fucking way to get them on the time slip”.!! Bill had him, and knew it. Yeah we were bad to each other, but don’t set yourself up.


Last updated February 05, 2015


MageB February 11, 2015

So sad about the bitterness and cynicism. What a hell of a business you were in.

Brakeshoe Bob February 11, 2015

Ya know .. ya worked around it Mage. Railroading is what it is. I found out early, you don't wear your feelings on your sleeve. Russell he was an overall unpleasant person to be around .. Is what it is.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.