Wednesday - 02.04.15 in Your Face

  • Feb. 4, 2015, 9:38 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Feeling slightly better today - my cold symptoms are slowly receding.

Back at Solicitor #1’s office - she is still away and I am feeling overwhelmed by the absolute mountain of scanning and shredding that I have to do, but I am reminding myself that I don’t have to have everything done by the end of the week - in fact, Solicitor #1 laughed and said she’d piled up way too much work for me. I just like to have things finished and done, though, which is why I have it in my head that I should get it all done. Instead of, say, writing in my journal.....

M is feeling guilty because we’ve taken to buying semi prepared foods from the supermarket, like a stuffed pork chop or marinated chicken. He is so used to preparing meals from scratch that he feels like he’s being terribly lazy by buying these things. I said he’s not lazy at all - it takes him forever to prepare and clean up after a meal, and he simply doesn’t have enough hours in his day to do it every night, plus preparing our lunches and breakfasts in advance (and yes, I do offer to help, but very rarely am “allowed” to). Personally, I am excited about trying some new stuff. I love M’s cooking, but there are things that he’d just never get around to cooking, like the broccoli and cheese stuffed pork chop that we’re going to split tonight. That’s another thing - because we eat such small portions, it’s so freaking cheap. We split a pork chop, or we eat one chicken thigh each, or a small roast that is to serve two people gets stretched to four meals.

Anyway. I’m sure that paragraph was totally boring for you guys.

We cleared part of the spare room yesterday, so that M can put together the cheap bookcase we bought from Walmart the other week. That room is such a disaster. We are settling into our apartment, four months later eye roll. We’re undecided about moving when our lease is up, or just renewing for another year. It has its pros and cons, and the price is right. Sure, we’ll be earning more money in a year, but do we really want to just spend it on higher rent? As long as we continue having decent neighbors, there’s no real need for us to move.


Stephably February 04, 2015

I agree about not moving, I hated moving and that was part of the reason I stayed at my last apartment for 2 years. We would have stayed longer if they were going to be working with us to move into a bigger place, but they weren't so we found this place and I hope we don't have to move for a long time here (though we are looking at buying a house sometime in the near future...).

The stuffed pork chop sounds amazing. I LOVE pork chops. top 5 of my favorite foods that's for sure. Buying pre-prepared meals doesn't mean you're lazy in the least bit. Just gives you more time to relax that's for sure!

Have a good one!

AlexYourAlterEgo Stephably ⋅ February 04, 2015

Yeah, that's it. Moving with M is a nightmare, because we have totally different ideas on how to do it (i.e. I like to pack, he doesn't pack anything until THE DAY OF moving...Haha). Plus, I feel like it takes so long to get settled, and I don't see the point in settling in somewhere if you're going to up and leave in a year. I just want my forever home! It's a few years away and on the other side of the country, though.

I agree with you about the food thing. It's only partly prepared, anyway. It's not like he's tearing open a box of frozen crap.

starry-eyed February 05, 2015

Glad you are starting to feel better!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.