ALASKANS - READ AND TAKE HEED! re: your PFD and "Pick.Click.Give." in Roundtrip Ticket to Paradise 2

  • Feb. 2, 2015, 2:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

…this is in response to an email sent to me referencing an email I sent to the “Pick.Click.Give.” campaign which is trotted out for Alaskans’ perusal during and after the filing period for the Permanent Fund Dividend…

~

Heather,

Thank you for your email.

Since I do not consider United Way to be a responsible agency (reference the Enron-style accounting shenanigans, as well as flights on the Concorde for top United Way executives [when the Concorde was still operating]), and given United Way’s trick of percentage-participation contests (the few holdouts like myself were hounded unmercifully until they ‘gave’), I shall make my donations directly to the charities to which I wish to donate. As a result I am discontinuing my participation in “Pick.Click.Give.”.

Please feel free to forward this email to United Way… although I doubt they will listen or take heed.

Best wishes,

WorldPilot


On Mon, 2/2/15, info@pickclickgive.org info@pickclickgive.org wrote:

Subject: RE: 7% fee: who pays this?
To: (my email)
Date: Monday, February 2, 2015, 12:05 PM

Thank you for your email. The nonprofits will
contribute 7% of their total donations to support the
statewide coordination of the Pick.Click.Give. program. If
you pledge $50 through Pick.Click.Give., then $50 is the
amount that will be deducted from your PFD.

State law requires that no State or PFD funds be used to run
Pick.Click.Give. The coordination fee will support the
annual marketing and outreach campaign, which 86% of
participating nonprofits say is necessary for the success of
Pick.Click.Give. Rasmuson Foundation recently posted an
article about the new fee:
http://www.rasmuson.org/blog/?p=7221

United Way of Anchorage has been a partner in implementing
Pick.Click.Give. since the program began in 2009. The State
of Alaska contracts United Way of Anchorage to process
applications from nonprofits that wish to participate in
Pick.Click.Give. The State also contracts United Way of
Anchorage to process the payment of Pick.Click.Give.
donations to participating nonprofits.

Thank you,

Heather Beaty

Pick.Click.Give. Program Manager

Pick. Click. Give. - The Permanent Fund Dividend
Charitable Contributions Program, United Way, 701 W 8th Ave,
Suite 230, Anchorage, AK 99501.

         Tel: 1-888-785-GIFT (4438)

World Pilot February 02, 2015

Interesting, too, the fact that, when I called that 1-888 number a few days back, all I got was a "phone tree" ["If you know your party's extension, please dial it now. If you don't know it, go f*ck yourself."].
~
Sorry, I'm feeling a little scrappy today. I understand the Patriots won yesterday, but I don't care one way or the other, as I didn't have any bets placed. I just remember being hounded back in junior high and high school, as to how the class of 1980 had 98% participation in the United Way drive, and your faithful diarist was the lone holdout.

World Pilot February 02, 2015

Then of course came the revelations that top United Way executives flew the Concorde on the company dime thou$and$ of dollars, and further, that adjoining United Way offices would book the same revenue -EACH-, thus apparently making their costs of doing business smaller and more efficient.
-shakes head-

World Pilot February 02, 2015

Does it seem apparent that I do not care for United Way? -shrug-

Everything Good Rebecca February 12, 2015

I've never looked into any scandals of United Way, but I work for a United Way agency. Every year we sit through a training/pitch from the local United Way (not Anchorage) detailing ways United Way contributes to local agencies. I have been convinced enough to sign up for a $5 contribution deduction from my paycheck, giving me a $120 tax write-off. Part of the funding for my employer comes directly from United Way grants if I understand correctly, so it feels right.

On the other hand, I still have never participated in the pick click give thing. The local Habitat for Humanity which holds the mortgage for my house always begs for me to participate just as my employer does, but I'd rather give myself. Your letter was interesting and their response was, well, rather blah.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.