Schools Week in In the Meadow

  • Feb. 2, 2015, 1:42 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Happy Groundhog Day. I guess Phil saw his shadow, so we have six more weeks of winter. Oh well.

The kids had special things going on at school for Catholic Schools Week this past week. There was an open house for parents and kids who want to possibly enroll at the school for next year. The middle school kids acted as hosts for the open house. The kids helped decorate the school and write out signs with directions. Timmy and Kayla helped out with that. They also had several masses for the whole school. The kids have to wear their full uniform for school mass.

One day the kids each wore clothing with logos of their favorite athletic teams. Timmy wore his Buffalo Bills jersey, while Kayla and Aaron wore their Yankees jerseys. Another day the kids could purchase lounge pants with the school logo on them. They could wear the lounge pants to school one day.

When I was in middle school fashion was the 1980s style with clothes from The Limited and Benetton. I remember my mom saying that being a parent then was expensive because the kids all wanted expensive clothes. It was different than when she was in school in the 1960s. By the time I was in high school, fashion had changed and I didn’t spend as much on clothes. I guess I’m getting off easy as a parent because kids today wear sweats and lounge pants.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.