Reminder in Site Updates

  • Jan. 30, 2015, 10:29 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hey folks. Life’s been a little crazy and I haven’t had time to respond on here like I usually do. There’s a couple of things I want to mention really quick.

  1. Please verify your email address on the Account Settings page (by “verify” I mean look at it - there’s not a verification feature yet). It’s very important that you know what it is and that it’s correct. Otherwise you won’t be able to reset your password if you get locked out. Also, I have no way of knowing that you are who you claim to be if you email me about your account and don’t use the email address associated with your account. I highly recommend you use your primary email address. I don’t sell email lists or anything shady like that. It’s completely hidden so spammers can’t get access to it. If you make something random up and then completely forget what it was, then email me about it - sorry. You’re SOL.

  2. My hosting provider will be performing maintenance on Feb. 5. This is the times given:

    Start: 2015-02-05 05:00 UTC (2015-02-04 21:00 PST)
    End: 2015-02-05 12:00 UTC (2015-02-05 04:00 PST)

    You can check status.digitalocean.com for updates if you run into latency or other issues.


Last updated January 30, 2015


hoops January 30, 2015

Sorry. I can neither confirm, nor deny such allegations about that being my email address are true, Senator. As I'm sure you can understand, I must remain anonymous to prevent all these ladies from throwing themselves at me.

simple mind hoops ⋅ January 30, 2015

It's a legitimate concern, I'm sure. :)

Deleted user January 31, 2015

Thanks for the heads up!

Etoile Filante January 31, 2015

You are magnificent, oh PB Overlord. Hope you and the family are all Hunky Dory xXx

middle age pearl January 31, 2015

Will do. Hope you and family are doing well.

Deleted user February 01, 2015

One Angry Dwarf February 01, 2015

Omg, an actual warning about scheduled maintenance? You're the raddest.

Loki February 05, 2015

  • yep. I know my e-mail =]
woman in the moon February 06, 2015

Would you do me a favor or think about doing me a favor? Would you put a date on the top of these messages from the site administrator/creator/ you? Sometimes I think there is a new one and there isn't. No big deal.

Cat Mommy woman in the moon ⋅ February 07, 2015

I'm confused... there is an entry date. Why would he need to repeat the date at the top?

woman in the moon Cat Mommy ⋅ February 07, 2015

I meant if you could see the date without opening the entry it would save opening entries I've read already. See what I mean?

Cat Mommy woman in the moon ⋅ February 07, 2015

Sort of. Do you mean on the homepage at the top?

woman in the moon Cat Mommy ⋅ February 08, 2015

Yes.

Cat Mommy woman in the moon ⋅ February 08, 2015

Then why would you need the date when you can simply click that section away and it won't appear again until a new entry is posted? No date is necessary.

Jane Says woman in the moon ⋅ February 12, 2015

Fwiw I agree with you that a date display would be helpful :)

Deleted user February 06, 2015

Have you thought about make a BBS like OD had for various topics? May be a good way for people to make new friends!

Cat Mommy February 07, 2015

I've been having a big issue the last few months but honestly thought I was imagining things. Now I know that I am not. Entries that I have labelled with a different privacy level from the default book privacy will change back, over time, to the default privacy setting.

For example two days ago I made an entry private in my public book My Sims. I just went to check it and it is back on public like the book itself. I have been noticing that entries I've made friends only will change back to members only which is the default for my main diary book. I could never remember exactly which entries I made FO which is why I thought I was imagining things.

I know I made that entry in My Sims private though so I haven't been imagining things these past few months. It seems like the privacy hasn't worked right nearly since it was implemented. I'm a little concerned because more than likely I have lots of entries that are MO when I originally posted them as FO. I hope it's not a site wide problem.

simple mind Cat Mommy ⋅ February 08, 2015

I'm aware that if you change the privacy level of your book that all entries get updated. Wasnt aware of a problem beyond that. Have you updated the privacy level of your book? It's also possible that just updating your book at all is doing this. I can't think of any other reason this might happen. I'll look into it.

Cat Mommy simple mind ⋅ February 08, 2015

I have updated the description for certain books. Is there any way to stop that happening? Otherwise for my diary entries I'll need to create two separate books again (one MO and one FO) and it was great only needing one book per year. I update descriptions a lot and I'm sure I'm not the only one so I imagine there are a few people that have more public entries but don't know it.

Cat Mommy simple mind ⋅ February 08, 2015

I just checked and yes, when I edit the description all entries go back to the default privacy setting. That would have been nice to know before I trusted that things I put on FO would stay that way. :-/

simple mind Cat Mommy ⋅ February 08, 2015

Sorry about that, I was honestly unaware of the problem. I'll look at correcting it when I have a chance. I was a little leery about implementing different security levels in the same book because of the many complexities it adds - and sure enough, an overlooked problem.

Cat Mommy simple mind ⋅ February 09, 2015

Considering this function has been around since September I'd say one overlooked problem really isn't that bad. I'm just glad that I wasn't going insane and now that I know about the problem I'll keep it in mind until it's fixed.

Jane Says February 12, 2015

Maybe I'm an idiot and haven't figured this out, but when I use PB from a smartphone the entry box doesn't expand enough to see the end of the entry of I'm editing it and I'm unable to scroll down past the bottom margin. If love out if this box were static or had scroll arrows or something for the mobile view.

Jane Says February 12, 2015

Wow, how you like those typos? I think you get the gist, anyway :)

BakaPhoeniX February 18, 2015

Hey, this isn't pressing or anything but will you ever implement instagram embed codes? :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.