Kind of Boring in Coping

  • Jan. 30, 2015, 6:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yep, my life has been kind of boring lately. Can you believe that? LOL Well, there is that thing....but I’m still not sure I’m ready to write about it yet. That’s weird for me too as my life was always an open book on OD.

Last week I had my annual wellness visit. Had a little bit of a scare with the mammogram. They had me wait after they did it so the doctor could look at it. Never had that happen before. Then she came out and said the doctor didn’t want to comment until he saw my last mammogram so he could compare them. Ummm.... Yeah, I knew something was up. So I spent the next few days scared, worried, and praying. They finally called me yesterday and said it was a benign calcification, BUT they still don’t have the results from my last mammogram so there might be an addendum to this. Feeling relief though.

They also did an MRI of my brain before the mammogram. Several years ago they discovered I had a cyst at the base of it. This was to see if there had been any changes there. Good news… Stayed the same!!!! Now I have to make an appointment with the skin doctor and the pain doctor.

Woke up one day this week with an abscessed tooth. Oh the pain. I haven’t had dental insurance in years so I’ve only had done what is absolutely necessary. Came home with prescriptions for an antibiotic, toradol, and something to coat my stomach so the toradol doesn’t make me sick. Three xrays and a shot for pain was $329.00!!! I’m in for a root canal and a re-filling of this tooth. I dread seeing how much this is going to be. And that’s not all the dental work I need done. Seriously wondering about having it done when I go back to Alabama for a visit in May. It’s just so much cheaper down there. But then again, do I really want to spend my time in pain from a ton of dental work?

Slowly getting settled in here. Had to spend two nights at my sisters house this week as my heat was totally messed up in my apartment. They had already replaced the thermostat and igniter and it still wasn’t working. They finally called in some contractors and it needed something called a belly belt?? ( I don’t know- this is what the apt. manager called it ). I said that made me think of gastric surgery. LOL All I know is that I’m glad it’s fixed. It really hasn’t worked right since I’ve been in the apartment, but it had gotten to the point that I had to leave the heat set to 83 just to have the temp in here around 64 degrees. Believe me when I say it wasn’t very warm in here. Poor little Calvin was shivering all the time. Thankfully my sister lives here in town so I had a place to stay.

Nothing else really going on. Hope everyone is staying warm!!!!
Hugs,M


Last updated January 30, 2015


middle age pearl January 30, 2015

Glad the furnace is fixed. I hate being cold! Yes dental work is expensive but worth no pain!

crystal butterfly January 30, 2015

Dental work is expensive. I have enough crowns that my share after insurance has been bad enough.

You might research oil pulling and try that to help your dental health. It helps other things too and I do it for a while and then forget. But I read another diarist that does it faithfully and her dentist has noticed the difference. She uses coconut oil.

thesunnyabyss January 30, 2015

don`t write entries about being boring, bc the next thing you know life is not boring, lol,

glad you are warm again and getting all your tests done,

hugs!!

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm January 30, 2015

peaceful and quiet is good not boring. glad you got your heat back. not good being cold. sorry to hear about your tooth. hope you are able to get it fixed soon. glad your mammo appears to be okay. take care,

QueenSuzu January 31, 2015

Ouch on the tooth pain. I think a toothache is one of the most painful things to have. I have not done the oil pulling but have heard of it. I do not think it would hurt to try it tho. Glad your heat situation got fixed especially with it being so cold. Hope the pain and skin doctor appointments go as well as your other ones did.

stargazing January 31, 2015

So sorry to hear about the tooth pain! Not good!

Tazmo February 01, 2015

Hugs

Deleted user February 01, 2015

Good news on the mammogram and the MRI. You're getting those appointment knocked out one by one. Sorry your darn tooth had to throw a wrench into it. Chris had a ton of dental work to do when he first got on my insurance and even just our share was pricey. So glad to hear they finally got the heat fixed...any word on whether or not they'll discount your rent because of the nights you had to stay at your sister's?

Lacrime di Drago February 02, 2015

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.