Gone Girl: The Movie in Thoughts On...

  • Jan. 26, 2015, 5:40 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I watched Gone Girl last night. The movie is 2 ½ hours long. The first half of the movie is much like the first half of the book, boring. The movie is pretty much spot on with the book, a few things are left out (not much), which is to be expected and in this case, I was very much grateful for that.

I don’t really understand why Rosamund Pike got an Oscar nomination for this role, especially when a lot of her “work” was voice over. Naomi Watts could have starred in this and I really don’t think the acting would have been any different. In case you are wondering, I have yet to see Naomi Watts act well. Additionally I don’t know why this movie was nominated for Best Picture either. It wasn’t spectacular, it was your basic, book becomes movie.

With a relatively unknown cast, Ben Affleck and Neil Patrick Harris were the “names” that were supposed to draw people in. Both were bad casting choices in my opinion. Affleck felt too old for the part and NPH felt too “Barney Houser” for the part of Desi. Perhaps it is my natural dislike for all things NPH, but he was the last person I would have seen as Desi.

If you are just going to watch the movie to check out Ben Affleck’s wang, don’t waste your money. If it was shown, which I don’t think it really was, it was so fast & blurry it didn’t even register and who has time to sit there and move that film frame by frame to see blurred wang? Especially when the run time on this movie is 2 ½ hours. That is time you do not get back, much like reading the book.

To say I did not like this movie is an understatement. I felt I owed it to myself to see if before judging it, which is why I read the book. I did not like it at all. The one good thing that came out of this movie was that I completed a dishcloth with time left to pick up my bedroom a bit.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.