My Dream in Coping

  • Jan. 25, 2015, 6:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I wrote about what happened with Ronnie but what I didn’t say is how much I’ve beaten myself up over it since it happened. For some reason, even though I KNOW that I was vulnerable, and I KNOW he played me I still think I should have been able to see right through him. I still feel like I was so stupid. And I still beat myself up with feelings of ‘ What Elton must think of me??? “.

Well, the other night I was lying in bed and I couldn’t sleep. The reason why? Ronnie. For some reason I could not get that situation off my mind. The whole thing was bothering me and I was in tears. The fact that I gave myself to him only for him to use me like that still really upsets me. OK, I get that it was definitely a learning experience ( but darn, this late in my life? ), but did it have to be with the person who had been my husbands best friend and someone who had been a dear friend to me for 30yrs? Obviously, I know now that he wasn’t really a friend. Anyway, it was 1am and there was nobody I could call and talk to at that time of the morning. Even in Alabama it was midnight and I didn’t want to take a chance of waking my bestie up ( although she would have been there in a heartbeat ). So I lay there, and I cried wishing the whole time that it had never happened and that Elton were still here.

At some point I apparently fell asleep because I had this dream, a dream of Elton. I have to tell you, I have had very few dreams of him since he passed and I cherish every one of them. And it’s odd because the few I HAVE had, have been when I’ve been in times of need. The dream was either short or I only remember the end of it. Elton was sitting in a chair dressed in a white uniform ( not in a gown like we typically picture people in heaven ). This tickled me later on because I’ve always told him I loved how a guy looked in Navy dress whites. Not sure if that had anything to do with how he appeared in the dream or not..... Anyway, he had this beautiful smile on his face and he reached out and put his hand on my face and just held it there. I reached up to stroke his face and it was so smooth and it felt so good to feel him again. It was so real. I could honestly feel him; how soft his skin was, the silkiness of his hair, and his eyes… they shone so beautifully, not dull like when he was sick at the end. I woke up then, with my hand still in the air, trying to touch his face.

I’m sitting here in tears as I write this. I miss him so much still. It is so hard trying to start this new life without him. I fully believe though that the dream was his way of telling me things were fine, that I hadn’t disappointed him, and that it was time to try and move on from Ronnie. I believe Elton knows how badly I was hurt and he was saying “It’s OK darling. It’s OK. You’re going to make it through this. Just remember how strong you are.”.

Although I still have a hard time with what happened I fully believe that “My guy” has my back in a very special way. And life does go on. It’s certainly not easy, but between God, Eltons rare but special “visits”, and my strength I think I’m going to make it.


Last updated January 25, 2015


*Mrs_Bolen* January 25, 2015

<3

PepperGrape January 25, 2015

Hugs

stargazing January 25, 2015

hugs When someone takes advantage of us, the only way we could ever know better is if they have done it before. It's the whole "Fool me once, shame on you; fool me twice, shame on me." How on earth could you have seen through him? He was yours and Elton's friend for a very long time. You would think that if you could trust anyone, it would be him...right? I'm glad your dream time visit from Elton helped.

crystal butterfly January 25, 2015

I am guessing Ronnie has learned to use his blindness and being a preacher to con a lot of people. Like those who think he is qualified to preach God's Word. He does sound like somebody that needs to be put on a prayer chain.

I hope your dream with Elton has helped ease your mind.

~Harmonie~ crystal butterfly ⋅ January 25, 2015

You know a very dear friend of mine told me that I should call the Tennessee Valley Baptist association and report him. Apparently they can kick him off for his behavior. The things is, I don't want my actions to be vengeful, I want them to be right and just. And yet, he shouldn't get away with doing this. How many other girls will he try to do this to as well??

crystal butterfly ~Harmonie~ ⋅ January 26, 2015

I read something about the women that Bill Cosby supposedly drugged, etc. That the first one was a victim at the time that it happened, but then only the last one remained a victim because the other remained silent for it to happen again and again. Phrased something like that. I don't know if it could be done anonymous or what, but he should not be allowed to remain a preacher.

Tazmo January 25, 2015

You are strong and you will make it. You already proved you could move on. You will always miss E, but that doesn't mean you will mourn him forever. Time has a way of healing. And so does God. Love ya sis!

QueenSuzu January 26, 2015

Deleted user January 26, 2015

I love your dream. I believe in this stuff ten-fold and truly do believe that he did come to you in a dream to let you know it was ok and that you WILL make it through this. You have a very special one looking down on you, cheering for you and still loving you.

thesunnyabyss January 26, 2015

what a beautiful dream,

I really think that Ronnie was there for you to be able to move on, without attachments,

big big hugs my friend!!

Lacrime di Drago January 27, 2015

You are. I just feel it. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.