Five Day Work Week in My this and that

  • Jan. 21, 2015, 9:15 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today I am thankful for this winter we are having. There were predictions flying around that this was supposed to be a worse winter than last year, and though we have had spells of cold, we have also had warm spells where it gets up to -10 and sometimes even warmer! Things start to melt a bit, and it even smelled a bit like spring yesterday. Granted, we are quite a ways away from spring, and we could still be slammed with bad weather, but so far we have plenty to be thankful for.

And I say that today to remind myself that life doesn’t suck. I’m incredibly cranky today; in fact I have been all week. My thoughts as I walked to work this morning were mostly negative, about how stupid it is that people must work five whole days out of the week! Who made up this stupid system? Wouldn’t it make sense to balance work with life? I mean, I’d rather work 10 hours for three days, and maybe a short day on the fourth day, if I could get three day weekends. At least I think I’d prefer that.

It’s probably due to the mountains of stuff I have at home (by stuff I mean dishes that I don’t want to waste my time doing during my precious hours at home in the evening)… and just generally it’s quite easy to be more negative in the winter. Hopefully I’ll snap out of this funk soon.

I have been reading some good books, and that is nice. I’d like to take my computer in for a check up as she seems to be running kind of slow. She’s about three or four years old… she is a mac… but I think it doesn’t hurt to take her in and get her cleaned up a bit.

I REALLY need to start working on my 2014 year book! I’ve just not found the motivation… perhaps on Saturday? It kind of depends when I get my sewing machines back. As much as I want them home so I can resume sewing, the longer they stay away the more other stuff I’ll get done.

I wanted to send out cards to people with our faces on them. You know how people do that at Christmas? And then beside their picture it often says something like “Merry Christmas from the Robertsons?” or something… I’d like to do that, but I can never get my stuff together by Christmas. Would it be too weird to do it not at Christmas? I could say “Have a great day, from the May’s” or something… Ah, who am I kidding, that’s not going to happen either.

Plus, we’re saving money. No unnecessary spending! I “suspended” my gym membership for six months… which means for a reduced fee I don’t have to go to the gym! That’s right… they make you pay to not go to the gym. GAH! It makes me so mad. But if I completely canceled my membership then when I decide I’m ready to start going back to the gym it would cost me about $100 in registration fees, which is stupid. I’m taking a break for two reasons: 1. To save money… yay I’m saving about $15.00 a month by not going to the gym and paying the suspension fee, and 2. I hate working out. I hate going to the gym. I feel physically like I want to morph into the hulk and crush buildings when I think about having to go to the gym. I’d start by crushing the gym…


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.