I can't even remember if we were lovers ... Santa Lucia in Adjunct to 8/9/2013 flash friday; a trinity of flashs

  • Jan. 21, 2015, 8:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

First off this song began as a means to an end, for me I mean, and, of course, it’s always all about me. I had this much older, less rude song stuck in my head. As a kid the piano bench to the baby grand in the living room, was filled with sheet music; most of it folk music, world folk music. Yes I had piano lessons, no I don’t nor ever did play the piano. But I play a lot of different instruments and so I learned a lot of songs by the sound of them and sort of fit the lyrics in myself.

The other day I was watching TV and someone was talking about Saint Lucia. They pronounced it Loo Sha. For a town in France that makes sense. I knew the melody to this Italian song, something about the moon, romance, breasts, you know, and because of the musical phrasing I could have sworn it was Santa Loo Chee Ah. There’s an extra note and a half in the chorus that’d be hard to stretch Loo Sha out to cover. The whole Saint, San, Santa thing is a matter of dialect, piety and/or just what language you’re speaking.

Anyhow, for reasons known only to myself (and I ain’t copping to it) I replaced the lovely lilting Italian folk song with the jarring song above, well, jarring in comparison. It’s hard to tell whether this is a break up song or not, Santa Lucia is obviously a courting song, even if only the melody is heard, it’s a romantic sound. I Held her in my Arms, not so much, especially if you’re the her.

My head is not a fun place to be stuck in, I mean it’s fun enough for me, but that’s like telling the scared kid “Don’t worry, sure the roller coaster is fast and plummets leaving your tummy in the atmosphere, but, darling, the roller coaster is having fun doing it”. So please forgive the Femmes for asking to pass the bucket


Florentine January 21, 2015

In Scandinavian countries, it's pronounced loo-cee-ah even though it's the same Italian saint. I actually liked Lucia as a girl's name for this currently cooking offspring, but my husband vetoed it.

Spilledperfume January 21, 2015

xo

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.