In the Kitchen in My this and that

  • Jan. 19, 2015, 10:43 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I spent most of Saturday in my kitchen. Well, perhaps not most of it, but a good sized chunk of it; and believe it or not, I actually enjoyed it!

I made a large pot of chicken soup, I prepared dough for making biscuits, and I made “oatmeal” chocolate chip raisin cookies. I put oatmeal in quotations because I actually used rye flakes instead of oats. As well, I did the dishes twice (BLAH). Someday I will have a dish washer.

The cookies turned out amazing! My friend Anna came over and tasted the soup and said it was good too. We spent the evening together e-mailing different people and watching Julie and Julia.

There had been a discussion I had had with a few different people about community, and how people don’t seem to care and invest time in each other like they used to. As I was growing up almost every Sunday my parents invited people over for lunch after church. It was a very regular occurrence. Sometimes my dad would call people up very randomly and invite himself over to their house to spend time together. Sometimes we’d just randomly stop by people’s houses without having called and see if they were busy… community.

Now that is looked on as a bit rude… It’s not as appreciated. People seem busier, like they have their time already all booked up. Sometimes life is just like that, but I miss having time with people to just sit around and chat. So this Sunday that’s what I did… I made that large pot of soup, and biscuits, and then just invited people over after church for lunch. Not everyone stayed long, and there was no activity planned… we just sat around and ate and chatted and it was nice. I may try to do it again next Sunday (but I’ll make chilli maybe).

Be the change you want to see in the world.

Also, having food prepared and planning to invite people over for lunch means it’s less likely we’ll go out for lunch and spend money unnecessarily… since we need to really save for our trip! I know I know, I should work this hard at saving money for a house… but it just seems so intangible still… this vacation seems more real, and it’s something I’ve dreamed of… still don’t know where we are going though.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.