Days 12-14. in 2015

  • Jan. 18, 2015, 11:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

That is the sound of sweet, sweet relief. I just had an intense 90-minute massage/acupuncture combo and it was SO needed and so amazing. And, intense. I started some serious weight training yesterday and so today all the muscles in my body that got worked were revolting against me. And, so, ouch. Also, I think I’m coming down with something nefarious, so my muscles and such have been extra achy and tense. But our lovely therapist took out her needles and tools and turned all tense / sore items to mush.

This long weekend has been great so far despite having a toddler on-the-mend from a mysterious ailment. He had to stay home from school on Friday because of his fever on Thursday. But, he was in a great mood Friday morning and had no fever, so Aaron took him to the Kids Klub at the gym while I tried to be as productive as possible until they returned. And I was. Productive.

My 18-year old niece, Frankie came to town to stay with Aaron’s mom for the long weekend, so we went out to our favorite neighborhood hot spot where we enjoyed a nice dinner on the patio and two glasses of vino for the price of one! It was nice and relaxing. Then we headed back to our place and Joaquin snuggled up to Frankie to watch the Gruffalo’s Child and fell asleep with his little hand cupping her face.

Untitled

It was amazingly cute. Her and Aaron’s mom headed out, so Aaron and I watched an episode of Sons of Anarchy and called it a night.

Saturday we headed to the gym and I checked in with my new ‘trainer’ for my upcoming challenge. We scheduled a session for Tuesday at 10a. I then did my own strength workout, ran 3 miles and walked for 20 minutes. It was a nice 2-hour workout overall. We headed home to eat, shower, etc. Aaron and I dropped Joaquin off at the “Frozen” party at his ‘school’ and headed to Old Town Pasadena to get pedicures. And a nice lavender lemonade. It was refreshing and awesome. Aaron dropped me off at home so I could get started on dinner, and he went to get Joaquin. They returned in great spirits; not only had Joaquin met and interacted with “Olaf” from Frozen, he also had a turn in the bouncy house and got to see some of his ‘friends.’

I made a red lentil dal with a carrot salad; Aaron cooked up some basmati rice and yellow curry chicken. It was delicious. REALLY delicious.

Untitled

After a nice session in the bath tub, we snuggled up with Joaquin to watch Frozen, where he fell asleep cupping MY face in his soft little hand. He is just incredibly sweet and snuggly these days.

Another couple episodes of Sons of Anarchy, and off to bed!

Today we hit up the gym, per usual, but I just walked for 70 minutes then worked on a proposal that is due this upcoming week. Technically, we are ‘closed’ tomorrow, but that doesn’t stop work from needing to get done, ya’ll. We took Joaquin on the train ride at the mall, I grabbed an iced winterberry tea from Teavana and we headed home.

Here’s Joaquin enjoying some EOS lip balm. You might not be able to tell, but it’s alllll over his face.

Untitled

After a sparse lunch, we took a nice late afternoon bike ride to the park and then hurried home so I could make dinner again ( SO WEIRD THAT I AM ALWAYS A COOKING PERSON!!??!)

Coolest bike helmet:
Untitled

Slide ninja:
Untitled

Super sweet sunset:
Untitled

Aaron and Joaquin enjoyed an art project while I cooked.

Untitled

Tonight was grilled chicken with soba noodles & miso vinaigrette. It was YUMMY. THANKS PLATED.COM FOR TURNING ME INTO A MASTER CHEF! Shortly after I finished eating, our massage/acupuncture goddess arrived and the rest is bliss.

I’m sipping a glass of white and writing this; Aaron’s massage will finish momentarily and then I predict some TV watching and some sweet, deep sleep.

Happy MLK day, everyone.

Mwah.


MaggieTheCat January 19, 2015

I am really loving Teavana lately. I wonder if they ship to Canada? Hmmmm. A project for the day.

Love the pics!

rubix cube MaggieTheCat ⋅ January 19, 2015

I bet they do! It's such a cool store - first time I had been in it and I was like WHOA, awesome!!

MaggieTheCat rubix cube ⋅ January 19, 2015

Their Earl Grey is amazing. I could just sniff it all day.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.