Work and Weekend in In the Meadow

  • Jan. 18, 2015, 2:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Most of this past week I was in New York City for work. I am a sales rep for a company that has offices in Buffalo and New York City. I have had the job for the past few months. I have stayed overnight in NYC a few times since I started the job. It has worked out mostly because my husband and parents have been able to take care of the kids after school. My parents have watched the kids when my husband has worked overnights. It is probably just a temporary job in that I will hopefully get another job with the same company. If not, it will be good to put on a resume. I mostly had to work when I was in NYC, but I did have time to check out the Museum of Modern Art. I am going back to NYC for a few days at the end of this month and I will see the Matisse exhibit. If you want to see the exhibit you have to plan in advance since you need to buy a timed ticket.

I took a cab ride while I was in the city. The driver was just learning English. He was annoyed at all the pedestrians crossing the street. I think he had just learned the meaning of certain swear words. He kept yelling at the pedestrians to “Go ____ yourselves.” I don’t think he had any idea what it meant. It was hilarious.

I was also walking down the street and I think there were two male models behind me. One guy was saying he was never so glad to wear long pants. He said usually wasn’t frustrated with a garment, but I guess he was frustrated with a pair of shorts he was modeling.

The kids have tomorrow off from school because of the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday. We have not been doing too much this weekend. It has been fairly cold, so we have stayed inside and read books. We are finishing up Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. Aaron is reading “Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing”, which I remember reading when I was his age. Kayla is reading “When You Reach Me”, and Timmy is reading “The Magician’s Elephant.” I have just started a book by Robin Cook called “The Cell.” It is a new book from the library so I have to be careful to bring it back on time.


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm January 18, 2015

LOVE that your kids like to read. i remember when blake and i would sit down and we'd read our own books. it was great. i told him when he started high school 3 1/2 years ago that i would read every book he had to read in english classes. i can't tell you how many books i had to read that bored the heck out of me... the odyssey comes to mind as does king lear. not gonna read his college assigned books to read. take care,

star_north January 19, 2015

Is it exciting going back to work? Had you been off for long? I think you've been a full time mom since I've "known" you. I'd love to see the Matisse exhibit - and funny about the cab driver.
It's great you all love reading! I don't know if it helps but when I turn things in late I just tell myself it's a donation to the library. Does your lib. do email reminders?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.