Movie Bucket List in YouTubes and Other Delights

  • Jan. 18, 2015, 10:50 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

On the want to see list. If you have suggestions, leave a note please!

Grand Budapest Hotel
Into the Woods
Imagination Game
American Sniper (5 Stars)
Birdman (3.5 Stars. LANGUAGE, Brief nudity)
Saving Mr. Banks (3.5 Stars. Nice twist on Mary Poppins)
Big Fish (Worth every moment of watching. Family, date, chickflick friendly)
Mississippi Burning
The Judge
Calendar Girls
The Hundred Foot Journey


Last updated June 20, 2016


Deleted user January 18, 2015

Big Fish was good watched it the other day. Suggestions Wolf of Wall Street, Young Adult, Mermaids (1990), Taxi Driver, Running with Scissors, Gone with the Wind, Pirate Radio... Idk what else at the moment but a lot ... what have you seen so we don't suggest repeats

LivingWaterCreek Deleted user ⋅ January 18, 2015

I've seen Big Fish a number of times, also watched it this past week. Mermaids is a sweet movie for me, too. The rest I will add to my list, Gone with the Wind I'll watch again, but save for a long, stormy day inside. Thanks for the suggestions!

Tuff e Nuffy January 20, 2015

American Sniper is full of filthy cussing.

LivingWaterCreek Tuff e Nuffy ⋅ January 20, 2015

Yes, it certainly is. None the less I think it was an excellent documentation of the situation combat troops experience, and the representation of a true story of one veteran. It is sad these stories exist, but they do. In this case we are made aware of many things the gov't., media, and even Hollywood would otherwise not share with us.
Saddest of all, our troops return home (if they are that lucky) and receive little or no support from American citizens and the gov't. who sent them to do the dirty work most would never consider happens or do. Cussing, that is a byproduct of a destroyed soul.

LivingWaterCreek January 27, 2015

Slavoj Žižek – the world’s most famous Slovenian, the “Elvis of cultural theory” – readily admits that he’s a big fan of movies. After all, there are few better ideological delivery systems out there than cinema and Žižek is fascinated with ideology. In his documentary The Pervert’s Guide to Ideology, he parses some beloved favorites in unexpected ways. So Taxi Driver is not only an unofficial remake of The Searchers but also echoes America’s recent foreign policy blunders in the Middle East? Okay. So Titanic has parallels with the Soviet propaganda movie The Fall of Berlin? Sure. Christopher Nolan’s The Dark Knight, at its heart, articulates some very cynical notions of government? Actually, I sort of suspected that one. Žižek’s tendency to make wild, surprising rhetorical leaps and his penchant for dropping nods to pop culture alongside references to Karl Marx and Jacques Lacan have turned him into that rarest of people – a celebrity philosopher.

Last fall, Žižek stopped by the office of The Criterion Collection where he rattled off some of his favorite movies from its library. His commentary is incisive, fascinating, occasionally flip and often funny. As it turns out, Žižek is not a fan of Milan Kundera; he is one of the very few people out there who prefers Roberto Rossellini’s late films over his early Italian Neo-Realist masterpieces like Rome, Open City; and he ended up being a personal inspiration for Ang Lee’s film, The Ice Storm. You can watch him talk in the video above. Below is the film list, along with some choice quotes.

Trouble in Paradise (1932) – dir. Ernst Lubitsch
“It’s the best critique of Capitalism.”

Sweet Smell of Success (1957) – dir. Alexander Mackendrick
“It’s a nice depiction of the corruption of the American press.”

Picnic at Hanging Rock (1975) – dir. Peter Weir
“I simply like early Peter Weir movies. … It’s like his version of Stalker.”

Murmur of the Heart (1971)- dir. Louis Malle
“It’s one of those nice gentle French movies where you have incest. Portrayed as a nice secret between mother and son. I like this.”

The Joke (1969) – dir. Jaromil Jireš
“The Joke is the first novel by Milan Kundera and I think it’s his only good novel. After that it all goes down.”

The Ice Storm (1997) – dir. Ang Lee
“I have a personal attachment to this film. When James Schamus was writing the scenario, he told me he was reading a book of mine and that my theoretical book was inspiration [sic]. So it’s personal reason but I also loved the movie.”

Great Expectations (1946) dir. David Lean
“I am simply a great fan of Dickens.”

Rossellini’s History Films (Box Set) – The Age of the Medici (1973), Cartesius (1974), Blaise Pascal (1972)
“Rossellini’s history films, I prefer them. These late, long boring TV movies. I think that the so-called great Rossellinis, for example German Year Zero and so on, they no longer really work. I think this is the Rossellini to be rehabilitated.”

City Lights (1931) – dir. Charlie Chaplin
“What is there to say? This is one of the greatest movies of all times.”

Carl Theodor Dreyer Box Set – Day of Wrath (1943), Ordet (1955), Gertrud (1964)
“It’s more out of my love for Denmark. It’s nice to know already in the ‘20s and ‘30s, Denmark was already a cinematic superpower.

Y Tu Mamá También (2002) – dir. Alfonso Cuáron
“This is for obvious personal reason. I do the comment. [He did the DVD Commentary for the movie] Although, I must say that my favorite Cuáron is Children of Men.”

Antichrist (2009) – dir. Lars Von Trier
“I will probably not like it, but I like Von Trier. It is simply a part of a duty.”

Žižek goes on to say that he oftentimes enjoys the DVD commentary of a movie more than the actual film. “I am a corrupted theorist. Screw the movie. I like to learn all around the movie.”

Bird of Paradise April 14, 2015

I heard that "Still Alice" was very good.. (not on DVD yet). I was told to read the book first. I still like the original Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Not much of a Movie watcher and if I see them I don't recall them.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.